I love November!

I don’t know about you, but I always get excited when November 1st rolls around. We come into the full force of the autumn season, with the leaves changing and falling off the trees. I live in the south, and we really don’t see much change in the leaves until November. Our yard is being covered with a blanket of leaves that make that wonderful rustling sound when the kids run through them heading to the swings or the trampoline. Soon, we’ll be attempting to rake all of them up, and letting the kids jump in them.

It’s time to clean up the garden and get it ready for winter. I also want to plant some more bulbs in the next few weeks, to bring forth their cheery faces come spring! All of these tasks will be enjoyable due to the nice weather, which draws me outside for hours at a time. This is porch time of year, when the days are so beautiful, I just can’t make myself go inside and deal with the tasks awaiting me there! But, I usually indulge myself in this, as there is only a brief time (in the fall and the spring) when we can spend much time outside, without it being too hot or cold!

This is the time when our thoughts focus on counting our blessings and thanking the Lord for all of them! HE is the giver of all good gifts and the source of everything we have! I am challenged to make thankfulness a part of my life every moment of every day all year long. I am way too inclined to focus on the negative, but He has commanded us to be thankful, and have an attitude of thanksgiving in all circumstances. Imagine what our lives and days would be like if we truly lived this way! Imagine the effect it would have on the people around us. Can we do this on our own? No…I certainly can’t. Only when I allow Christ to work through me and in me will this be apparent in my life. I have to release my worries and my cares to the Lord and trust Him to handle them. He has called me to rest in Him, and let Him be in charge. When I am focusing on Him – His goodness, His love, His sovereignty, His will, His Word – then I am not focusing on me, and that is when thankfulness can dwell in us – and that thankfulness can bless those around us.

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

