Thankful Thought #2 – Homeschooling!

I am thankful for Homeschooling! 

We have been on the homeschooling journey for 13 years now, with 2 graduates, and 5 currently schooling.  I am more convinced now than I was in the beginning that this is the right path for us.  There are many days that are difficult, but many, also that are wonderful!  It is so great seeing a child’s excitement as he is learning something new, and it clicks, and we can celebrate together.  I love doing  projects together and learning right alongside them.  But, by far, the most exciting part of homeschooling for me is being with my children,  day in and day out,  teaching them about the Lord, and life, and experiencing life with them.  Things are NOT always rosy, by any means, but I’m thankful for those times, too, because the Lord uses the hard moments to grow me and mature me. 

I have been learning lately that I have had the wrong idea about trials and struggles.  I have thought of them as something to always be avoided – the enemy!  My main goal has been to fix things, and my focus has been on getting everything “back to normal” again (whatever MY idea of normal might be!).  But, I think that the Lord wants my focus on Him, during the hard times, looking for the lesson He has for me in it.  The Bible tells us that we WILL have trials, and that we are to be JOYFUL in them (now, if that’s not convicting, I don’t know what is!).  But it is because the trials bring about the growth & change that God wants in us. 

Now, how did I get so far off on the subject of trials in a post about homeschooling?!  Well, if you homeschool, you already know the answer to that one!  You just can’t put a houseful of sinners together (most certainly including myself!) and expect harmony all the time! (I’m preaching to myself here!)  But then, that’s the beauty of it!  We (the kids and myself) all have lots of great opportunities to allow the Lord to grow us in Christlikeness!

So, I’m thankful that the Lord has placed this wonderful opportunity called homeschooling in our life, and I’m thankful that my children’s education is centered on Christ, and His truth.  After all, that’s really the most important education of all!

Blessings,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

