Thankful Thought #3 – Teenagers

I am thankful for teenagers!

Yes, there are times when they can be quite a challenge, but all in all, I really am enjoying my teenagers. We hang out together after all of the littles and middles are in bed – around here known as “the late night crew”. We usually watch a movie or sometimes play board games. A while back, we had a nightly game of Monopoly going (dh just shook his head & went to bed – he’s not a game player).

Tonight is a rather typical night:

Our nightly movie is over and right now, Matthew is chasing one of our kitties around the living room and having a grand time. He has been stalking her with a blanket to throw on top of her. She is a “teenage” kitty, so still quite playful. I don’t know which one of them is having more fun!

Laura is wearing a top hat and telling me that every zebra in the world has a different stripe pattern – she then says: “How do they know that? Did they go around checking them all?” I remarked that it was a good question! I wouldn’t have thought of that!

Some moments in these years can be quite painful – it’s not easy for any of us to grow and change, and growing into adulthood has it’s own share of challenges. We need to keep pointing them to Christ as their example and show them that we love them any way we can. This is one thing I need to do better – I’m really good at showering my babies with kisses and telling them that I love them, but it’s harder to do with older children (especially when they’re taller than you – not snuggly babies anymore!)

I’m thankful that my teenagers are many times used by the Lord to teach ME lessons! They have gently reminded me to respond properly in different situations, and I love discussing things with them, and hearing their thoughts.

Having flown 2 from the nest now, I am learning to embrace this time that I have with my teenagers still at home. It won’t be long before they are leaving, too. I am thankful for the time I have to spend with them now!

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

