Our Pumpkin Harvest

Here is this year’s pumpkin harvest from our garden! It’s not very large (and neither are the pumpkins!), but it’s more than the 2 we got last year, so we’re excited about it!

Okay, that third picture was just a freebie – thrown in because I couldn’t resist!

These pumpkins are now sitting around the house (inside and out) providing fall decoration. Some are sitting in front of the picket fence gate, some are on the front porch and there are 3 jack-be-littles on my kitchen windowsill.

I will probably start cutting them open this week. We will roast the seeds to snack on and this year I am going to cook the rest of the pumpkins and puree them to make pumpkin goodies in the kitchen. It will be a first for me, as I usually just toss the pumpkins after we get out the seeds. I am, I’ll admit, a little intimidated by the whole thing, having never done it before! (Some of you are really shaking your head at me!) Cooking from scratch is something I am really wanting to learn to do, as I am normally just a mix girl by default, but would like to be able to cook with just what I have around the house.

I’ll let you know how it turns out and post a few recipes as well!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Nancy, I love the pictures!! What beautiful children! I can say that even if they DO have my genes. I’m wondering if you made pumpkin goodies.
    If so, I’d like to hear about them.

  2. Hi Mom! I haven’t made them yet – was planning it for tonight, but Laura has been sick today, and I don’t want to cut them open without her! Hopefully in the next few days! Thanks for posting! Nancy

Leave a Reply

