On the 11th day ’til Christmas…

Can you believe it is only 11 days until Christmas?  Sarah is counting the days until Christmas Eve –  that is only 10! 

Today we will be doing a little more shopping – including groceries.  This afternoon I hope to wrap some presents -the children will take turns wrapping their Secret Santa gifts – and continue work on the stocking and Christmas cards.  I was able to work on the stocking for a little while last night while watching “It’s a Wonderful Life” (for the first time this year!).  The movie was “wonderful” as always, and still makes me cry every time!

The chicken nuggets were a hit last night.  I thought I’d share how to make them with you –

Oven Fry Chicken Nuggets

Ingredients:

9 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts

2 eggs, beaten

4 boxes Oven Fry coating mix

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Prepare two cookie sheets by coating them with 4 Tablespoons of vegetable oil.  Wash chicken and cut up into bite size pieces (about 1 inch).  Moisten chicken in a bowl with beaten eggs.  Empty Oven Fry crumbs into a large bowl.  Coat chicken pieces with the crumbs, and place on cookie sheets.  Bake for 15-20 minutes until chicken is done.  Enjoy!

I usually make this with rice and steamed vegetables, but I didn’t make it to the store to buy the vegies, so we just ate them with rice.  Keep in mind that these amounts feed our family of 11, so you will need to adjust the amounts for your family.  For dessert, I baked chocolate meringue pies, which we enjoyed warm out of the oven.

Tonight’s dinner will be pizza for the kiddos while Mom & Dad go out for dinner.  We didn’t end up going out last night to discuss our final shopping plans, so we decided to use one of our restaurant gift cards (Jeff earns these by doing market research surveys periodically!) and go out to dinner tonight.

In my new One Year Bible, I was reading last night in Revelation, and had some thoughts that I would like to share –

“…and I saw a throne in heaven and Someone sitting on it.  The One sitting on the throne was as brilliant as gemstones – like jasper and carnelian.  And the glow of an emerald circled His throne like a rainbow.  Twenty-four thrones surrounded Him, and twenty-four elders sat on them.  They were all clothed in white and had gold crowns on their heads.  From the throne came flashes of lightning and the rumble of thunder.  And in front of the throne were seven torches with burning flames.  This is the sevenfold Spirit of God.  In front of the throne was a shiny sea of glass, sparkling like crystal.”                             -Revelation 4:2-6

My first thought upon reading this passage was the sobering and joyous truth that I would be there someday and see this scene in reality, as will all of those who have trusted Jesus Christ as their precious Savior.  What a glorious truth to meditate on! 

My next thought was that heaven and eternity are the true realities – earth and this life are passing away and are so temporary and short compared to our eternal life, which is soon to come.  These thoughts are more than enough food to feed on for a long time, as I savor their truth and enjoy the change of perspective they give my life.  I want to do just that – savor them and pray that God keeps my focus on Him, remembering that my true home is in heaven – with Him – rather than here on earth.  I am here now, as a missionary for Him, but I will be going home someday and the glory of that home will exceed anything on earth, and anything I can imagine.

I will share my 3rd thought upon reading this passage tomorrow.  Until then, keep in mind that as lovely as “home” is to us now, even in the sweetness and beauty of the Christmas season, it pales in comparison to the complete beauty, joy and comfort of our true home in heaven.

“But our citizenship is in heaven.  And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, Who, by the power that enables Him to bring everything under His control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like His glorious body.”        -Philippians 3:20-21

Have a wonderful day!

Blessings,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

