On the 6th day ’til Christmas…

Today is Michael’s 6th birthday!!!  We will be celebrating in various ways.  I am taking him out to lunch today, and tonight the whole family will be going to Chuck E. Cheese to celebrate with pizza, cake, presents and fun! 

This afternoon will find me wrapping presents, starting with Michael’s birthday presents and hopefully I will get some Christmas presents wrapped at the same time.

The Christmas cards are almost finished and are set to go out on Friday.  The stocking is almost ready to backstitch.  My goal is to have it ready to assemble on Saturday – we’ll see!

As usual on my children’s birthdays, I tend to spend a bit of time remembering the day of their birth – how things went and what else was going on in our lives at the time.  Today I am reminded of the fact that Michael was a Christmas baby.  This was challenging to say the least, but also very special.  I remember feeling something of a kinship with Mary as I held my tiny (well, not so tiny) newborn in my arms.  I thought about what it was like for her, so many years ago, and wondered if she was experiencing the same things that I was.  Of course, I’m certain her surroundings weren’t as comfortable as mine – but she was a new mother with a sweet baby to care for.  Did she feel the awesomeness of her new role?  Did she feel that mixture of complete joy and fear that caring for such a little one brings?  I feel sure that she did.  I really admire her, especially when I think of her trying to recuperate with a constant influx of visitors coming to see the new babe.  I tend to go into hiding and just “nest” when I have a new baby.  I think, however, that she knew that her role as the mother of the Messiah would call for sacrifice, certainly more sacrifice than other mothers, but she probably handled it well – she had already declared, “I am the Lord’s servant.” (Luke 1: 38).  Luke also tells us that “Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart” (Luke 2: 19) in response to all of the testimonies of her visitors.  When Jesus was 8 days old and was taken to the temple to be circumcised, Simeon told Mary:

“This child is destined to cause the falling and rising of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be spoken against, so that the thoughts of many hearts will be revealed.  And a sword will pierce your own soul too.”                    Luke 2: 34-35 

Mary had her own challenges to be sure, but she was also a human mother who had been given one of the greatest gifts from God – a child.

Blessings,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

