Winter blahs. . .

I don’t know about you, but I can’t seem to get myself moving.  I feel like I’m walking around in a daze.  I am doing things that need doing, but kind of in a fog.  I think it is the cold, overcast, gray days we’ve had lately.   I definitely do better on bright, sunny days!  Somehow it energizes me and makes me want to accomplish a lot.  On dark, gray days, I just want to sit around and don’t feel like doing anything.  I also don’t like cold – at all.  I have been wanting to run to the grocery store for the last two days, but it is so cold outside that I just want to stay in, under a blanket. 

Yesterday I saw an entire flock of Robins outside my kitchen window!  There had to have been at least 40!  I’ve never seen this many Robins together at the same time – maybe 10 max.  I want to look up and read about them to see if this is the norm.  It was really neat, though – a hint of the coming of Spring, even if a little early.  I figured that they were probably heading back north after their winter away, but I don’t know.

Oh, there is news in the Great Honda Hunt – Jeff found a car and purchased it last Thursday.  It was the quickest turnaround we’ve ever done on a car – praise the Lord!  He has even sold his car already for more than the salvage shop was offering.  Here is a picture of the new one:

I haven’t gotten to drive it yet, but I know that Jeff is enjoying it!

I’ve been reading various blogs around the net lately that deal with making our homes a haven for our families.  These have been so inspiring to me, as this is one thing that I feel in my heart that we are called to do as wives and mothers.  I hope to post more in the coming weeks about this subject, as I explore thoughts and ideas.  Not today, though – my brain is too fuzzy – maybe the sun will come out tomorrow!

Blessings,

Nancy

4 Responses

  1. I am the same way. I do not like the cold at all. We have had some pretty cold days here this winter so far and I am not enjoying it. I have a little weather widget on my email page and it has said 38 degrees and “dreary” yep that is the word it says. I feel like the weather. I cannot wait for spring. When the first sunny days happen I get so motivated and just want to plant and clean.
    Congrats on the car! God is always faithful to provide right when you need it.

  2. Mommy Reg – Yes, He certainly is! I’m like that with Spring too! It is so glorious to be outside when it starts warming up. I guess I should be planning that garden now, so that I can be ready when it’s time. At least it will be nice to be thinking of Spring!

  3. I live 4 miles from the Canadian border, near that little chimney-looking thing on the top of Minnesota. It’s been 20-30 below at night and we’ve had daytime highs in the single digits below zero. The earliest we will see any robins will be the end of March!

    So, it could be worse, right?!

    I try not to even think about spring until at least mid-February, or else I’d just be torturing myself! God is good. I live in a crystal white cathedral-world, with brilliant sunshine, bright blue skies and diamonds on every tree branch.

    I enjoy your blog. I have an entire folder in my “favorites” list called “homeness-the state of being home” and your is one of the many stops I make on a regular basis.

    Bless you, stay warm, rejoice in the robins!

    Bonnie

  4. Bonnie – Oh my! That really is cold! I spent 2 years of my girlhood in upstate New York and while the snow was fun to play in, I never could stay out for very long – I just hated being cold! I guess I’m thankful God saw fit to plant me in the south from then on! I do miss the beauty of the snow, though, and the scene you described sounds so lovely indeed!

    Thank you for your sweet comments! I’m so glad to have you visit here and share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

