Dogwoods

There is a special place in my heart for dogwood trees.  You see, I was born in North Carolina and spent my first 7 years of life there.  North Carolina is prolific with dogwood trees – Texas is not.  The rest of my life has included many trips back to my birth state, usually in the spring or summer when the dogwoods were in full bloom with lovely white flowers or lush with green leaves.

When I was a child, my siblings and I spent many moments climbing and sitting in the dogwood tree in the middle of my grandparent’s beautiful backyard.  When we returned years later with our own children, the tree was still there, adorned in white beauty, beckoning someone to come and share a few moments in it’s branches – so, we placed our babies in its grasp and took pictures of them in our old friend.

Besides the sentimental value of the dogwood to me, there is also a spiritual value for me.  The flowers of the dogwood tree have 4 petals in the form of a cross.  At the end of each petal is a red pinched spot, which reminds us of the wounds on Jesus hands, feet and head as He was hanging on the cross.  This beautiful tree is a living reminder of the great love He has for us – so great that He gave His own life as a payment for our sin.

So why am I prompted to write about the dogwood today?  Because I planted 2 dogwood trees yesterday!  Somehow we came upon a brochure from the National Arbor Day Foundation which said that they would send you a tree to plant if requested.  Jeff requested one and it arrived in the mail one day last month.  Imagine my joyful surprise when I opened it and saw that it was a White Dogwood tree that they sent!

Imagine my even greater surprise when, upon unwrapping it yesterday, I discovered that they sent 2 trees rather than just one!  Mind you, these are small cuttings of trees, and will need to grow quite a bit to come close to the one in my grandparent’s yard, but I am excited anyway!  I have planted them in the corners of my vegetable garden (the baby tree nursery), so that they will be able to grow in a safe, protected environment for a couple of years before transplanting into the yard.

I don’t know if they will survive or not, but for right now, I am thrilled to know that there are dogwoods growing on my property!  Now if I could just get those berry bushes to grow, too – but that’s another story.

Blessings,

Nancy

3 Responses

  1. I never knew that about dogwoods. That is so beautiful. I hope they grow and flourish in you climate then you can pass that love for them to your kids. 🙂
    Blessings

  2. We had a dogwood tree in our yard in Virginia, and it was lovely.
    So neat to get two trees, too!

    I have 7 kids, and isn’t it just amazing how much more fun it is when you have more and more kids? I am having so much more fun now than I had with just 3. Of course I have teens now, too, so that could be the reason, too.

  3. Mommy Reg – Thanks for your sweet words!

    Qtpies7 – Yes, life is definitely more fun – and crazier too! I sometimes feel like I’m trying to run a 3 ring circus! I am really enjoying my teenagers (most of the time) – we have a good time together, watching movies and talking after the younger ones are in bed for the night.
    I enjoyed checking out your blog – especially the post about your son putting out the trash in his boxers! It so much reminded me of my 17 yr old son! (who also is responsible for putting out the trash).

Leave a Reply

