Hearts and Crafts

Happy Valentine’s Day!! Tell your special people that you love them today! Maybe even give them a box of chocolates. . .flowers are nice, too!

Here’s what we have been up to –

We made a whole bunch of these heart garlands yesterday and have them hanging up around the house for decoration. We just folded various papers – patterned scrapbook paper and construction paper – accordion style (like a fan) and then cut out the heart shapes, leaving the sides uncut on the folds. The kids thought it was so neat to unfold them and see the string of hearts!

We also have been busy in the kitchen making Valentine sugar cookies. I actually mixed up the dough for these on Monday and it chilled in the refrigerator until yesterday (not intentionally that long, but you know how life is…). I was afraid it would have dried out too much, but it was fine. Here is the crew at the frosting stage –

Always a mess, but worth it! I have learned over the years to use plastic cups/bowls and knives for frosting the cookies, whenever possible. Then I can just throw them away, instead of having to wash them – which is the greasy (shortening) alternative.

We have also been spending a bit of time making our Valentines. . . which I can’t show, because . . . well. . .it would spoil the surprise for many of you!

This is my kitchen windowsill. This weekend at my stamp club (I really am going to post about that some day. . .soon. . .hopefully), I noticed that my friend had a little lamp like this on her kitchen windowsill. I thought it looked so homey and cozy. !!!Lightbulb moment!!! – “I have a little lamp like that and a kitchen windowsill like that, too!” – I thought to myself. So here is the result. I have really been enjoying my little lamp in my kitchen window. It has the same ambiance (sp.?) as the candle burning on my island and makes my time in the kitchen so pleasant.

Our plans for today include a trip to McDonald’s for lunch, candy making, fabric hearts and a special dinner (I haven’t figured out what it will be, yet!) with treats for the kids. Jeff and I will exchange Valentines after the younger ones go to bed. Somewhere in there I need to fit in a trip to the store, too! We will decorate white lunch bags with stickers and crayons for Valentine bags, which we will all distribute to each other after dinner. I have decided to put off the heart shaped pretzels until tomorrow (any guesses why? 🙂 ) It will be a good day for them tomorrow, anyway, as we are getting a cold front tonight and it will be nice to stay inside and make hot pretzels. Besides, whoever said celebrating our love for each other had to occur only one day of the year?!

Here are a few verses to keep in mind from our heavenly Father – the One who is our greatest example of love –

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.”   – John 3: 16  (I know that we hear this verse so often, we really don’t think about it as we should – but, take some time to really meditate on this verse and the extraordinary love that God has for us!)

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.  Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.  And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”  -Colossians 3: 12-14

I hope that whatever your day holds, you will be reminded of the One who loves you more than anyone else, and that you will be blessed by His love!

Blessings,

Nancy

2 Responses

  1. I am so happy for you. Everytime I click over I’m amazed at your energy and positive outlook. You are truly a blessed woman.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Nancy! I Love You ~Michelle 😉

  2. You are too kind to me! I must say that your blog always keeps me amazed as well – your heart for the Lord, your transparency, and your talent for writing are just a few of the blessings you give us with each new post.

    Hope you all had a good one! Love you too, Nancy

Leave a Reply

