Thankful Thursday

This week I am thankful for change – something that can cause a multitude of feelings. It can bring fear and grief and even anger, or it can bring excitement and joy and peace. I have felt all of these feelings in relation to change in the course of my life. Today I am going to write about a few of the things that I have been thinking about this week in relation to change – reasons that I am thankful for change.

1. I am thankful that the seasons change. Imagine if it was perpetually winter! But, God, in His wisdom has created a world for us that is always changing, each day new and wonderful, and the change from winter to spring is such an uplifting change with new life abounding all around us.

2. I am thankful for the new life that I have in Christ – that is the change that I am most thankful for!

“Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.”
2 Corinthians 5:17

“Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.”
Ezekiel 36:26

This is the most glorious change of all, wrought by the hand of God!

3. I am thankful for the Holy Spirit, Who grows and changes me. God is so good to not leave us here in our helpless state alone in this world. He has given us the Holy Spirit to live inside of us and grow us into the likeness of Christ.

“But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you.”
John 14:26

This growth can be hard sometimes and painful, but is also so very exciting and joyous. The Lord has been revealing many truths to me in the area of education the last few weeks and I have just been feeling so thankful that He cares so intimately for us as to reveal Himself to us and change us as we follow Him.

4. I am thankful that the Lord provided our home in the country 3 years ago this week! This was a change that God had laid on my heart and in my prayers for a long time, but when He actually began to answer my prayer, I was afraid! I had lived in the suburbs for most of my life and in the same town for the 20 years previous to our move. I was afraid to leave the familiar and dive into the unfamiliar. Thankfully, we moved ahead with our plans regardless of the fear I felt and God has tremendously blessed us in so many ways as a result. We love our new home, our new church and our wonderful new surroundings more than we could have imagined that we would. It has been a good move for our family and so I celebrate every year the anniversary of the day we moved in – this year we celebrated with chocolate cake!

5. I am thankful that, eventually, there will be one of the most wonderful changes of all.

“Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea.
And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband.
And I heard a loud voice from the throne, saying, ‘Behold the tabernacle of God is among men, and He will dwell among them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself will be among them.
and He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away.’
And He who sits on the throne said, ‘Behold, I am making all things new.’ And He said, ‘Write, for these words are faithful and true.’ “
Revelation 21:1-5

It makes my heart rejoice to read these verses!

So, maybe change isn’t always a bad thing! Change in our lives can bring about so many results – sometimes good, sometimes painful – but we are never alone as we go through change in our lives. We are constantly in the arms of our loving heaveny Father, who does not ever change – a wonderful truth to be thankful for!

To read what others are thankful for today, click on the button below, and have a wonderful, thankful Thursday!

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. I enjoyed your post! I’m thankful for the changing of the seasons too.

  2. I’m with you–I’m so glad God gave us seasons to enjoy. love the blue of your blog–mine is plain. HA

  3. Thank you for such a beautiful post.

  4. A lot of people seem to have a hard time with change. But I think that it is so exciting. I guess I get bored easily.

  5. Good morning Nancy,
    I didn’t get to read many thankful lists yesterday so I am out visiting. Your blog title caught my eye.
    This is a beautiful post. There have been many changes in my life through the years. Each time I’ve moved to a new location, God has blessed me with wonderful new friends.

  6. It is so true, Nancy. Change can be painful but also at the same time refreshing. When I left my home-country 17 years ago, I was sad, but God has turned my life around with that change.
    I am glad that you have a wonderful new home and a great community of believers.

    Thank you so much for sharing your grateful heart with us this past week.

    Blessings to you and your precious family.

    PS: Can’t wait for the New Jerusalem 🙂

Leave a Reply

