St. Patrick’s Day Fun

I thought I’d share with you the little bits of fun we had today celebrating St. Patrick’s Day.  Of course, everyone tried to wear green or something with green on it.  The kids had great fun pinching me when I emerged from getting dressed and didn’t have on any green.  I don’t have a green shirt, and was intending to find a green sticker to wear, but they caught me before I could.  Well, they had fun with it, anyway.

After lunch, I sent the kids outside to find clover to pick, armed with small paper bags.  They found a big patch and picked a few handfuls each.  Actually Tommy and Sarah picked clover – Michael and Anna decided it wasn’t interesting enough – until later, when they saw what we were doing with it, and then they quickly ran outside to pick their own.

Here’s what we did with the clover –

Each child made a design with their clover on a sheet of wax paper –

I then covered it with another sheet of waxed paper and ironed them together, sealing the clover inside –

Sarah used hers as a tablecloth for her new tea set –

Michael took this picture of his creation –

Tommy cut his into the shape of a magnifying glass – he’s our Hardy Boys mystery fan –

Anna made one, too, but we didn’t get a picture of it. 

I read a little bit about St. Patrick’s Day to the children from my Five in A Row Holiday book.  Here is a short excerpt –

“Patrick is recognized today as the Patron Saint of Ireland.  Did you know that he was not born there?  Possibly born in England, he was captured in his teenage years by pirates and sent to Ireland as a slave.  But, even in this sad event a wonderful thing happened.  Patrick fell in love with the Irish people and hoped that someday he could share the gospel of Christ with them.

Escaping to France, Patrick became a monk.  From there he returned to Ireland and spread the gospel to the Irish people.  Nearly 300 churches were founded from the seeds of faith Patrick faithfully planted.”

-Jane Claire Lambert and Becky Jane Lambert

I have made it a tradition in our family for years to cook a green dinner on St. Patrick’s Day.  Some years I make green scrambled eggs with accompanying green side dishes.  This year I decided on Broccoli/Cheese Casserole, lime jello and special cookies from the store.  Here is a picture of the goodies –

I got my recipe for Broccoli/Cheese Casserole from my sister-in-law. (Come to think of it, I’ve gotten alot of good recipes from her over the years!)  Here it is –

 Broccoli/Cheese Casserole –

Mix together in 9 x 13 dish:

2 cups cooked rice

1/2 onion, sauteed

2 boxes broccoli spears, cooked and chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste.

Melt together:

8 oz. Velveeta

1 can Cream of Mushroom soup

Add sauce to rice mixture and sprinkle grated cheddar cheese all over the top.

Bake at 350 degrees until cheese melts.

We topped off our day by watching “Luck of the Irish”, an old Disney Channel video that we enjoy from time to time, especially on St. Patrick’s Day!

Hope you enjoyed a peek inside our home today and I hope you had a fun day, too!

Blessings,

Nancy

One Response

  1. HI !!!

    I have used Five in a row too !!!!

    Sounds like you had a fantastic St. Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

