Spring Planting Has Begun!

 

Yesterday we got our two small garden beds ready for planting and started to plant them.  These two beds are close to the house which makes them easy to tend.  Yesterday’s plantings included tomatoes, green bell peppers, red bell peppers and jalapeno peppers (a must have in Texas). 

I am hoping to get some more plants in today before the forecasted rainfall starts.  We are expecting several days of rain, which would be great for sprouting seeds.  If the rain holds off (and the household doesn’t hit me with too many challenges), I will try to get the okra seeds planted, as well as the beginnings of my herb garden, which so far will include basil, thyme, oregano and rosemary.  This will be my first herb garden, so it will be a learning year, I’m sure.  I will be adding some other herbs, too, but I’m not sure yet which ones.

  

We haven’t yet begun work on the big garden out in the yard.  It needs to be tilled, which will hopefully happen soon.  In the big garden, I will be planting zucchini, green beans, cucumbers, sweet onions, red onions, watermelons and three types of pumpkins (tiny, pie and large).  I want to plant some strawberries out there too, but am wondering if it is getting too late for planting them (my first time with those, too).  I will probably go ahead and plant them and see what happens.

Also, waiting in the wings and ready to be planted, are seven blackberry plants, five blueberry plants and five raspberry plants.  It has been a longtime dream of mine to have thriving, established berry plants, that I can pick fresh berries from to make cobblers like my grandmother did.  We will be planting them along the picket fence between the pool and the barn, as soon as we till the soil.

  Across from the berries, we will plant sunflowers against the barn wall.  We did this last year, and it was a lovely sight to view throughout the summer. 

So, those are my garden plans for this year.  I must say that I am chomping at the bit to get into the big garden and get things planted, but will bide my time.  For now, I will just try to get the small gardens finished before the rain – which is plenty enough for this day!

Blessings,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

