Exciting Bird Sightings!

Sunday we saw two exciting new birds at the feeders – at the same time even! We couldn’t grab our cameras in time to take pictures, but I found a couple of pictures on Flickr to share with you.

This first one is a painted bunting! The picture shows a male (on the right) and a female (on the left). We saw the beautifully colored male! Thankfully, most of us were in the kitchen at the time it appeared outside the window, so many were able to see it. The back of this bird is a yellow/green, so you can imagine how lovely he really was! Here’s the picture I found –


Photo by leppyone

I have never seen one of these birds before in my life, so I was really excited!

Believe it or not, at the same time that the painted bunting was here, an indigo bunting also showed up! He was the most beautiful color of blue!! I may have seen one of these about 2 years ago way out by the pond, but have never seen one this close up until now. Here is the picture I found of an indigo bunting –


Photo by hart_curt

Later in the day, the indigo bunting came back to the feeder (I was camera-less again!), but I didn’t ever see the painted bunting again. Just knowing he’s out there, though, will keep me peering out the kitchen window a bit more from now on! Maybe I’ll park my camera by the kitchen window, too.

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

