Moving stuff around

The big boys don’t know it yet, but they are going to be in for some heavy lifting and hauling today. My mind has been going around and around planning a new arrangement for many of the books in this house for about 24 hours. I’ve actually been wanting to tackle this problem all week, but haven’t had a chance to think about it in depth until the last day half a day. This all started when a package arrived via UPS the other day. Actually it started before that, because I knew it was coming, so I knew I would be needing to face this situation. What situation? What was in the package? Well, books of course! Yes, more books – isn’t it wonderful? And not just any books, but the entire 20 volume set of R.M. Ballantyne’s adventure books republished by Vision Forum. I have heard so many wonderful things about them and they were selling them half price at the time, so we decided to go ahead and add them to our library.

This brings me to the situation before mentiioned. Where would these wonderful new books live in our house? We have many, many bookshelves in our home . . . all of them full. I am a lover of good books, especially good children’s books – I find them in stores, library sales (my favorite) and thrift stores, to name a few. Getting rid of good books doesn’t compute in my brain, so my first logical course of action would be to buy another bookshelf, which of course I would love, since I could move some other books onto it and ease the crunching on the existing shelves. This brings me to the second part of the situation, however. I really cannot find another spot in the house for another bookshelf. Believe me, I’ve actually lain awake at night trying to figure out a spot – but to no avail.

The next course of action is to move things around to make better use of the shelves I have. There are a few shelves housing items other than books – said items are now being evicted. They will be given new homes, either through donation (my on-going decluttering project – I have a much easier time getting rid of stuff than I do books), or consolidation (instead of 3 separate nature exploring boxes, we just need 1 that we take outdoors with us when we go.) or finding a new spot in the house to live. Case in point – I am still working on organizing the craft room, and it just dawned on me early this morning (it’s amazing how clearly you can think when it’s quiet and there are no interruptions) that we have a splendid pantry-type cabinet upstairs in the hall that is not really being used for much (used to hold games, but they were moved elsewhere, and I kind of forgot it was empty) and that would be perfect in the craft room to hold all our art supplies, paper and crafting supplies, some of which have been taking up valuable space on my bookshelves, the floor of my panty, and various other locations.

So, this brings me full circle. My big boys will get to move the cabinet downstairs and probably something up to take it’s place. Then there will be a massive amount of shuffling things around – books and papers – everyone will get to help with this job (I can hear the moans and groans now). I am relocating all of the nature books to a different bookshelf that has a nice long shelf on top to use as a nature display shelf, as well as moving some of Anna’s books upstairs (she is slowly moving into the big girls’ room, bit by bit). I have all of this planned out on paper, so it has to work, right?

Hopefully by nightfall my new books will be resting comfortably on their new (to them) shelf home, ready to be grabbed and enjoyed by us all (one has already been started by Tommy), and I will be a major step further in bringing peaceful order to our home – which will make all the hard work worthwhile. (I’m sure my children will agree 😉 )

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

