The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ May 12

Outside my window. . .the sun is shining, a breeze is blowing and the birds are busy at work (which is quite fascinating to Macey, our cat, who is doing her morning watch in the window).
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that it’s going to be difficult to get this post written while chasing the 2 year old up and down the stairs, as he just pushed past the safety gate again!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .a lovely Mother’s Day yesterday, time to rock on my front porch (without chasing the 2 year old!), and a nice visit with my own mother last evening.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .English Muffins with butter and honey. Tonight will be Chicken Pot Pies and Fruit Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing (hopefully!)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .my pink jammies – I haven’t gotten dressed for the day yet! (waiting for a big person to wake up to chase the toddler, so I can retreat to the shower.)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .a notebook which includes ideas for celebrating life (small occasions and large) with my family that I can refer to throughout the seasons and days of our everyday life.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to try to stay home most of the week and get some work done around the house, cleaning and decluttering.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .so many wonderful books that I brought home from the Homeschool Bookfair this past weekend. A few examples – “Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe” (Todd Wilson), “Keep a Quiet Heart” (Elisabeth Elliot), and many practical booklets by Renee Ellison (she spoke at the conference). Also, still “The Moffats” with the kids.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .for a productive week working on the house this week!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Sarah and Tommy chatting next to me, Barney the Dinosaur DVD playing out in the living room, the branches of the Rose of Sharon outside my window brushing against the screen when the wind blows.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .new books from the bookfair sitting around the living room waiting to be perused and put away, teenagers sleeping, many little seedlings coming up in the garden, laundry waiting to be rotated in the washer and dryer, new fixtures for the bathrooms and craft room sitting on the the dining room table awaiting a handyman to come and install them!
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .books, books, books – (good ones, mind you) especially old books and childrens books. We found a few wonderful old children’s nature and story books at a used book booth at the bookfair to add to our library!
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .cleaning my house, Horseback lesson for Laura, replacing David’s crib with a twin bed (is this always as traumatic to you as it is to me?) and reading, reading, reading those wonderful new books!
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

Beautiful roses from my sweetheart for Mother\'s Day
~~~~~~~~~~
To catch a peek inside other Daybooks for this week, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman, and have a beautiful day!

Blessings,
Nancy

5 Responses

  1. Hi there, I stopped by your blog via “The Simple Woman’s Daybook”. I love books too! I love finding a good deal on a used book, but sometimes I need to ask myself if I really ‘need’ it!

  2. A celebration idea book sounds like a fantastic idea!

  3. Our cat adores watching out the window as well. I love the idea of your celebration notebook! Thank you for sharing your daybook with us. Blessings ~ Heather

  4. Beautiful roses! I enjoyed reading your Daybook and I hope you are having a great week!
    Kelli

  5. Thanks for mentioning Renee’s booklets. She has blogs and a description of her homeschool how-to’s at http://www.homeschoolhowtos.com/

Leave a Reply

