The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ May 19

Here is my Daybook list for this week ~

Outside my window. . .it is a sunny day with a bit of a breeze. A cardinal couple hopped through the Rose of Sharon bush outside the window and flew on.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about what to buy Jeff for our 25th wedding anniversary in a few weeks.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .kitty cats, sunny days, pretty flowers, and God’s truths which set us free.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .dinner tonight will be Barbecue Chicken (Cindy’s recipe at An Army for the Lord), rice, salad and Sarah’s Apple Pie (that’s my daughter Sarah, not that other pie baking Sarah)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .a grey Flag t-shirt, blue jean shorts and my special “Mom” locket that the children gave me for Mother’s Day.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .spots of happiness with the flowers I purchased this weekend – lt. pink vinca in a pot on a table on my front porch, purple flowers (I don’t know what they are) in my flower box and tall, red “strawberry” blossoms going into a spot in the landscape beds.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to do a little bit of stockpile grocery shopping today, and to buy some flowering bushes to plant in front of the front porch rail.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .”Treasury of Vintage Homekeeping Skills” (Martha Greene), Romans 5 and 6 (Ladies Bilble Study this week), “A Charlotte Mason Primer!” (Cindy Rushton)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get my kitchen cleaned up today – oven cleaned, refrigerator washed out and floors mopped – since Jeff is working from home today and can help with the kids!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .I Love Lucy on the television, little footsteps going up and down the stairs, Jeff talking to children in the living room.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a big pile of DVD’s on the floor that David had fun pulling off the shelf yesterday, several piles around from yet to be finished reorganizing projects, lots of things in the baskets on the stairs that need to go up and the ever-calling laundry waiting for me.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .living in the country ~ I thank God for it as often as I think to!!
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .cleaning up the house for the annual Memorial Day family get-together at our house next weekend, a small redecorating of the downstairs guest bath (paint, border and fixtures – it’s a tiny bathroom, so it won’t be too hard!), and preparing a song that I’m singing at the Ladies Retreat on Friday at church.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

~~~~~~~~~~
To find other Daybook entries for this week, visit Peggy at The Simple Woman.
Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Enjoyed your Daybook. I have purple vinca and I just love it! your pink one looks lovely.

    Enjoy your memorial Day. I wonder of this Daybook thing will be going next Monday come to think of it!

  2. I love your porch, I could enjoy a cup of coffee there just rocking.

  3. I enjoyed your daybook and my visit to your blog. 🙂

    Amy
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/simplefolk/

  4. I enjoyed reading your daybook. You have a really lovely blog! Your picture is beautiful, peaceful. Have a perfect weekend…Kathy@ Mimi’s Garden

Leave a Reply

