Thankful Thursday

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
I Thessalonians 5:16-18

This Thankful Thursday finds me thinking of nature. Laura and I have been almost nightly watching the movie “Miss Potter” – the story of Beatrix Potter’s life. (We tend to do this – we get enthralled with a particular movie and watch it over and over until we sometimes know it word for word by heart) One of the things that I love about Beatrix Potter is her love of nature. She was captivated by it from a very young age and her eventual move to the country later in life truly brought her home.

I can certainly relate to Beatrix’s love of God’s creation in my own life. The older I’ve grown. the deeper my love of His beautiful world has become. Our move to the country three years ago answered His call to surround ourselves more with His natural world, which has been a blessing to us ever since.

The Lord teaches us so much about Himself through His creation – His great power, His perfect timing, His love and provision towards us, to name only a few. Many an afternoon, I have been sitting on my front porch, just drinking in the glory of God’s world, when something will happen – a bird or an insect or even a flower or tree will come to my attention, and the Holy Spirit will speak to my heart, saying “this is how God is” – or “learn from this and apply this truth to your life”. It thrills my heart and amazes me to see the attributes of God in the world which He has created around us.

I am thankful for these lessons from nature and for the peace and joy they bring. I am thankful that the Lord has given me a hunger to know Him deeper through His creation and that I am able to pass this on to my children.

I am thankful for deep blue skies with fresh white clouds, lush green trees and tiny pink flowers. I am thankful for frisky brown squirrels and gentle, timid bunnies. I am thankful for birds in brilliantly lovely colors and for the simple sparrow who has so much to teach.

I am thankful for changing seasons, keeping our world ever changing and ever new. And I am thankful for the stars in the heavens beckoning us to turn our eyes upwards to observe the grandeur of God.

Most of all, I am thankful that God is such a good and loving Father, that He created all of this for us to enjoy and to use as a witness to us of His glory and His love for us. I pray that I will never take it all for granted to the point that I cease to hear His voice in the breeze and feel His care in the warmth of the sun.

Wondering what others are thankful for this Thursday? Click the button below to find the list of other participants in this week’s Thankful Thursday, and have a beautiful day!

Blessings,
Nancy

8 Responses

  1. Thank you Nancy for a wonderful post. I love nature too (I grew up smack in nature!). God bless you.

  2. “Most of all, I am thankful that God is such a good and loving Father”

    Thank you for this wonderful T.T. post!

    May God bless your day!

  3. You are such a sweet blessing.

  4. What a great list. All of the wonderful things God has made and provided for us is just awesome.

    Blessings!

  5. Nancy…You are truly GIFTED and PRECIOUS in your Thankful words for Nature and God’s Glory! Each word of nature seemed to draw a glorious, description of God’s touch. How wonderful you expressed this TT! Be blessed and continue blessing us with such aMazing expressions of God! Thank you!

  6. This is such a beautiful post and I can tell you spoke from a full heart. I love nature too and can worship God so easily there with His creation all around. I love to take walks and just smile at all the evidence I see that He is all powerful.
    Thank you,

  7. I see the Lord so much when I am outdoors too… especially in my garden.
    I know He is everywhere… but I stand in AWE of His creation so much in my garden watching His birds, His seeds, His wind blow… ~ WOW what and awesome God we have.
    Lea
    <

  8. what a way to thank God of all his creations. be blessed!

Leave a Reply

