Happy Birthday Ryan!!!

Today is my son, Ryan’s 20th birthday!! Ryan is our second child and second-born son. He was my largest baby, weighing in at 10 lbs. 13.5 oz. When he was born, I was so surprised – and not only because of his weight. You see, I was expecting him to be a girl – not based on any solid evidence – I had just decided this baby was a girl because my pregnancy had been somewhat different from my first pregnancy which delivered us a beautiful baby boy. I had so convinced myself that I was having a girl, that when Ryan was born, I remember feeling like he was a total stranger to me! That didn’t last long – as soon as I held him in my arms and kissed his soft, sweet forehead, he ceased to be a stranger and a deep, deep love poured through my heart and soul for this precious little gift from God. And I still feel the same way today!

Ryan has always been a total sweetheart (sorry, Ryan, but it’s true!). He has blessed our family in so many ways. All of his life he has been helpful, obedient, loving and a joy to parent. He is thoughtful, caring and responsible. My years of homeschooling Ryan were always easy due to his strong self-discipline and desire to do what was asked of him. He is a very hard worker and can be depended on to do a good job at whatever he undertakes.

Ryan’s personality has always been characterized by peacefulness and calmness, even in the midst of a storm – and even when the rest of the house is the storm! His middle name is Jeffrey (after sweet hubby), which means “God’s peace” – and he has certainly lived up to his name. He displays God’s peace to us all and is a great inspiration to me.

As Ryan has grown, so has his faith and relationship to God. He has recently surrendered his life to ministry, and is seeking where the Lord would have him serve. (You can read about that here. )

I am so very thankful that the Lord blessed us with the wonderful gift of Ryan 20 years ago, and I look forward to seeing what He has in store for him in the years to come.

Happy Birthday Ryan!!!

I love you,
Mom

One Response

  1. Such a wonderful tribute to give your son on his birthday!!!! Handsome guy, too!!!! It’s always so good to hear of young people who are giving their lives to whatever God wants them to do. They need our prayers, for sure! So glad I found your blog today! It was so refreshing to read! Cora

Leave a Reply

