A Baker’s Dozen

I believe a “baker’s dozen” is actually 13 – please correct me if I’m wrong – 12 plus one more thrown in for good measure. I won’t quibble about it, though, as it’s not really the point of this post.

The point is – I am now mothering 13 children – yes, I did say 13 – well, at least for the next few days. Some friends of ours are out of town and their four children have come to stay at our house until they return. They arrived yesterday morning and will be staying until Wednesday night. So far we have all kept quite busy with swimming, Mario Kart, church this morning, Ryan’s last minute birthday party last night (which became a party when he said he wanted to invite a few friends over, which turned out to be about 9 – we had a total of 24 people in the house late into the night, as the older group decided to stay and watch a movie until 2 a.m.), eating, more swimming, a few tricks being played back and forth between the girls’ and boys’ rooms, playing outside, a baseball game, a few movies and general chaos and fun.

I keep counting heads to make sure I know where everyone is – mostly the little ones. Stay tuned for the recounting of our adventures this week – if I can find time to post, that is!

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

