Happy Birthday Robert!!!

Yes, we are celebrating another birthday at our house! Today is our son Robert’s 23rd birthday!!! Robert is our first-born child, and as such, he will always have an extra special place in our hearts.

Another of my biggest babies, Robert weighed in at 10 lbs. 1 oz. and his birth brought me into this marvelous wonder called motherhood. I can remember his baby days so well, it’s hard to believe he’s grown up now – wasn’t it just yesterday that I was snuggling him close and singing him lullabies – just where do the years go and how do they speed by so fast?

Robert was our easiest baby of all 9. The day we brought him home from the hospital, he slept for 5 hours straight. I remember sitting on the couch saying – “Well, this isn’t so hard.” It makes me laugh to think about it today!

Robert inherited my strong will, which over the years, made for a few challenges, especially for this novice mom who just wanted everything to always go smooth. But, hey, where would the world be without the strong-willed challengers? God can use them to do mighty things for His glory and His purpose when that strong will is directed and guided by the Lord.

Robert is so sweet with his younger siblings and has always loved holding the babies and helping to take care of them. He has his own apartment now, which is about an hour away (closer to our old home), so we don’t get to see him as much as we’d like, but the children are always so excited to hear that he is coming over because they love spending time with him (us, too!)

Robert is a genius with computers – what is totally foreign to me is a piece of cake for him. He knows how to diagnose, fix, and build them. He also is quite adept at web design and has made a number of 3-D modeled shorts. He is currently contracting with a major video game manufacturer, fulfilling a long-time dream of his to work in the video game industry.

He is a good friend to those around him and values his friendships greatly. He is a hard worker and is willing to do what it takes to get a job done. He is an excellent artist – he’s been amazing us with his drawings since he was a boy.

So many times I have looked at David and seen Robert (he has a strong resemblance to him when he was a baby) and it gives me such a new perspective – I am so much more aware of the brevity of childhood (even though it feels so slow at the time). The years pass quickly as we race toward eternity and it is so important (I’m preaching to myself here) to appreciate those fleeting moments of childhood while they are here, for tomorrow they will be all grown up!

It is hard to let our children fly out of the nest, but it is God’s will and God’s way and it is good. Even so, I can still miss my little nestling, and I can certainly blog about it on his birthday, when I am prone to reminiscing about his birth and his life. Thanks for indulging me!

And to my little birdie, I say –

Happy, Happy Birthday!!! You are so special to me and I am very proud of the fine man you have become. I miss you and want you to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers more often than you can possibly imagine. I’m so thankful that God blessed me with you 23 years ago today.

I love you so very much!

Mom

One Response

  1. Alittle late in catching up this made me cry. So grown up.

Leave a Reply

