Candy-Making Night

Last Wednesday night was our monthly Keepers of the Faith meeting at church. The topic of study this month for the girls was candy-making! We met in the kitchen, where a lovely table was set up with samples of homemade chocolates, books about candy, strawberries with chocolate dipping sauce, dipped pretzels, candles and baskets of candy-making items.

The girls were taught some of the history of candy and played a fun timeline game for candy prizes based on that history.

Next they learned how to make molded candy from candy melts, and actually each got to make some. It was a very simple process –

1. Melt candy melts for 30 seconds in the microwave, stir, and melt 30 seconds more.

2. Spoon into molds, and tap mold on counter to release air bubbles.

3. Place in freezer until solid.

4. Eat and enjoy!

It doesn’t get much easier than that!

Here is a picture of some of the girls filling their molds with chocolate –

We learned that there are many different colors and flavors of candy melts available at the craft store, as well as a wide variety of candy molds for all occasions. It was a really fun night and everyone enjoyed eating the work of their hands.

Here’s one little boy who thought it was a great night. I turned my back for a second and he stuffed some chocolate in his mouth and then proceeded to give me the “cat who ate the canary” look –

The boys had a fun night too – they went off to someone’s home to learn about horses, where they each had the opportunity to ride for a bit as well as learn about horses and their care.

I am signed up to teach the girls next month – and I have no idea yet what I am going to teach them – EEK!!!! Time to start working on that one.

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. Nancy,
    I have a picture of Emma that looks just like that one of David! The big blue eyes staring up at me…I’ll have to scan it when we hook up the scanner again (after the carpet is installed, etc., etc.). I’m sure you have many wonderful ideas to teach the girls next month. One I thought of is something to do with gardening since you are so talented in that area! Or, maybe something related to music since that is another strength of yours. If you ever need any lessons on girls’ health, let me know. That is my forte.
    Yours,
    Kathy

  2. *gigglefits*
    I love David in that picture πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Kathy – I would love to see the picture of Emma! I just loved that picture of David – his face spoke volumes!

    Thanks for the ideas! I might consider the gardening idea – probably just potting flowers or such. I just feel like such a novice – it seems like every plant has it’s own rule book!

    I’m thinking that piano would definitely be considered your forte, as well! I have always marveled at your ability to play such beautiful music with such ease – truly a gift from God!

    Love,
    Nancy

  4. Okay Dusty – your gigglefits are always such fun – except late at night. . .during the movie. . .when I’m too tired for such antics!

    Love you,
    Mom

  5. Candy making is so much fun. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/
    They would make a great fundraising item.

Leave a Reply

