Summer Blooms

I walked around the yard with my camera and thought I’d share some of the beautiful flowers that are blooming right now in our little neck of the woods.

As you can see, the crepe myrtles are in full bloom and really gorgeous this year –

These are our Daylilies – there are four yellow bushes and one peach – lovely! –

Here is one of the three sage bushes that are still waiting to be planted in the ground. I am going to love having these bushes with their sweet purple flowers –

Here are two of our Rose of Sharon bushes. The pictures don’t show the colors as beautifully as they are – the first one is a lovely purple and the second a light baby pink (my favorite). We also have several bright pink ones that I didn’t photograph this time –

This is a small bunch of interesting flowers that I found at the nursery and planted by the porch. I don’t remember what they’re called, but the blooms look like strawberries! –

Finally, on this day anyway, there is what we affectionately refer to as “the Monster”. I don’t know the name of this one either, but it is a huge bush that grows back bigger every year, even with cutting back – hence the name. It blooms with many pretty purple blooms all over it –

I took some pictures of how the garden is coming along as well, which I will share with you in another post. So glad you could stroll around the yard with me today!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Nancy,
    I have been planning and dreaming of what to do in the backyard next year. I had Rose of Sharons at our old house, and plan to put them all along the back fenceline. Then, the plan is to add small beds around the backyard and some pots on the porch. Your flowers are so pretty, I might have to plant some daylilies for sure! We worked hard in the front and side yards over the past 2 years – I might post something when Bill comes home with the digital camera!
    Love,
    Kathy

  2. Hi Kathy – Oh, please do post some pictures – I would love to see them!

    Rose of Sharons all along the fenceline sounds so gorgeous! I just love mine – they seem to thrive on the heat, when everything else is parched and provide so much beautiful color all summer long. Mine were all here when we moved in, as well as the daylilies and others. I am so thankful for the original owners and the way they landscaped the house! The first year was like a treasure chest – every season brought new surprises, with different things blooming around the yard – some would bloom and then die off and then something different would bloom. We almost have flowers year round in the yard!

    Sometime I would really like to plant some azaleas in the yard in abundance, like my grandparents had in their yard in North Carolina!

    Love,
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

