Strawberry Shortcake

Here is a summertime classic that most of us have made at some time or another. My family’s favorite version includes a homemade shortcake that is covered in strawberries and topped with Cool Whip. Come along to the kitchen with me and I’ll show you how we make it at our house.

Strawberries

Wash and remove the stems from strawberries (we use about 4 lbs. for our family – use however many you choose) –

Cut strawberries into small bite-size chunks –

Add sugar to taste (I use about 1 cup or so for my 4 lbs. of strawberries) –

Mix well and then put in refrigerator to chill while making the shortcake –

Shortcake

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Mix together 2 1/3 cups of Bisquick and 3 tablespoons of sugar –

Add 3 tablespoons of melted butter and 1/2 cup of milk –

Mix until soft dough forms –

Spread dough in an ungreased round cake pan –

Bake at 425 degrees for about 15-20 minutes or until golden –

Cool a bit and then cut into wedges. Serve in bowls – crumbled wedge of shortcake topped with strawberries (get some juice on the cake – it’s yummy!) and Cool Whip to your heart’s content (or, as in our house, until the container is empty) –

A perfect dessert for a lovely summer evening!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. MMMMM!!! I wondered if you used Bisquick – the best stuff in the world. There is no better way to make shortcake if you ask me. I will have to do this one ASAP! I haven’t made it in years (sad to say) and I love it.
    Thanks!
    Kathy

  2. Oh – that looks so yummy, Nancy 🙂 I wish I could have a bowl of that right now!!!!

  3. Your strawberry shortcake looks wonderful. I use brown sugar on my berries sometimes for a change yummy!

Leave a Reply

