Blueberry Banana Bread

I found this lovely recipe at Homemaking 911 last week and decided to add it to my new Scratch notebook. The combination of the blueberries and the bananas make a delicious treat and a nice summer bread.

Part of the educational experience for me was using some of the bananas I have been storing up in the freezer. I had been hearing that if I put them in the freezer when they were getting overly ripe, I would be able to use them to bake with later on. Using them would be a new lesson in my on-going mission to learn to cook from scratch. My report is that it worked beautifully. I let the frozen bananas thaw and then just squeezed them out of the peel and into my batter.

I was just going to post the recipe for you, but Sarah was in the kitchen with me and decided to chronicle my efforts with the camera, so you can thank her for the photo help she provided to this post.

First the list of ingredients –

1 Cup Butter
2 Cups Sugar
4 Eggs
3 Cups Flour
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
3/4 Cup Buttermilk
3-4 very ripe Bananas
1 Cup Blueberries, rinsed and drained
1 Cup Walnuts (optional)

Cream together butter, sugar and eggs –

In another bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda –

Alternate adding dry ingredients and buttermilk to creamed mixture –

Mix well. Beat 200 strokes –

Fold in bananas and blueberries –

Bake in greased and floured (I used cooking spray) pans at 350 degrees for 45 minutes to one hour. This recipe makes 2 loaves –

My family loved this bread – I’m sure your’s will too!

Now for a bonus picture – this little package is all wrapped up and ready to be delivered to the front porch of someone(s) near and dear. You know who you are! Enjoy!

Blessings,
Nancy

11 Responses

  1. I never thought of banana and blueberry together. I’ll have to try that. I peel my bananas before I freeze them. Then you can easily add them to anything frozen or thaw. Like smoothies.

  2. Hi Mommy Reg!

    How do you store your peeled bananas? Do you freeze each banana separately or mix them all together?

    Thanks for your help – I’m trying to learn!

  3. Hi Nancy,
    I’m interested in your banana freezing method. I see you freeze them in the peel, does that eliminate the need for plastic wrap, or do you do that also? I need your help, I’ve never been successful at using them once I freeze them. So far, the only benefit to freezing them has been that I don’t have to look at ’em on the counter, which is better than a poke in the eye, but not by much.

  4. Hi Mother Hen!

    I have just started freezing them myself. Always before I just threw them in the trash when they got overripe. I heard somewhere that I could put them in the freezer in the peel, so that’s what I did. I didn’t wrap them in anything. They turned black with a frosty glaze on them. When I was ready to use them, I set them out to thaw and then just pinched off the peel on one end and squeezed the banana into the bowl. It worked fine for me this time, but this is the only time I’ve actually done this – I’m still new at it. I’m going to try to make some banana nut bread this week with the rest of the bananas I have in the freezer.

    I’m not sure how long you can keep them in the freezer before you need to use them, but I’m going to try to use mine probably within a month or so of freezing them.

    Hope that helps!

  5. Thanks Nancy,
    You made a good point about the length of time they can stay in the freezer. I mean, really, less than a week is probably enough. I don’t always want to make banana bread on the very day they start to get too ripe, but tomorrow or the next day is probably good. 😀
    Thanks for the help, I’m gonna start doing this.

  6. Nancy,
    I just peel mine and put them in a Ziploc freezer bag. We have done this to make smoothies for a long time, but I love this banana blueberry bread recipe! Wish I could have some right now…. 🙂
    Yours,
    Kathy

  7. Your bread looks so yummy! I’m going to try it today as I have way too many overripe bananas. I always freeze a lot of them for smoothies.
    They are so much easier to use if you peel them first. I lay them out on cookie sheets in the freezer until they are frozen, then transfer them to ziplock bags. That way they are frozen separately and I dont’ have to pry them apart when needed for smoothies. I have also frozen mashed bananas in containers or small ziplocks that were just the right amount for my banana bread recipe.

  8. My friend made this for me for Christmas….it is EXCELLENT. So moist and such good flavor. It is one of the best banana bread recipes I’ve ever had.

  9. I was very interested to learn that you can freeze bananas. However, I have read (more than once) that storing food in plastic bags in the freezer isn’t safe (health-wise.) I would try wrapping them in wax paper before placing them in zip-lock bags (or better yet in a non-plastic freezer-safe container.)

  10. Curious, how does this recipe freeze? And for how long? Hoping to start holiday baking and have lots of extra bananas. thanks for your help.

  11. Hi Patricia!

    I have never frozen it, but I researched it a little bit online and found that it should freeze well. Cool it completely, wrap it tightly in Saran Wrap and then put in a ziploc freezer bag – the key seems to be to make sure it is airtight to avoid freezer burn. One site I looked at said to freeze it for up to a month, another said it was good up to 3 months. I would think it should be fine from now until Christmas.

    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

