Thankful Thursday – July 24

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
I Thessalonians 5:16-18

Here are a few things I am thankful for this week –

1. I am thankful for life. This week I celebrated my 47th birthday and my birthday always turns my thoughts to the fact that God chose to create me and blessed me with life. This fact is very humbling to me and fills my heart with gratitude to my Creator.

2. I am thankful for friends who surround me with love and thoughtfulness – it has been fun spending the evenings this week with my friends at VBS.

3. I am thankful for VBS week. This is always a special week of the year for our family. This year’s theme is the Fruit of the Spirit and has already been inspiring to me, which leads me to the next thing I am thankful for –

4. I am thankful for the work that the Holy Spirit does in our lives, when we allow Him to lead us and teach us. His fruit – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control – is evidence of His presence in our lives and makes us a vessel for His blessing of others and for showing God to the lost world.

5. I am thankful for time to buy school supplies!! I have always loved school supplies, for as long as I can remember. So, this time of year, when the stores are holding all of their sales on supplies is an exciting time for me. I love to peruse the aisles of supplies and restock our school boxes for the year. I can spend a long time just browsing through everything!

6. I am thankful for air conditioning -as the hottest part of summer has definitely arrived. I am also thankful for my van air conditioner, remembering some summers when it wasn’t working and the misery of going anywhere was a daily part of our life.

7. I am thankful for our pond, with it’s tall trees and lush greenery – it is a nice cool image to look at anyway, even if it really isn’t cool outside! Jack likes it, too, as he goes swimming in it multiple times a day trying to stay cool.

8. I am thankful for lemon slushes at Sonic – a cool, refreshing treat on hot, summer days.

9. I am thankful for my 2 year old’s newest phrase – “Tank you, Mommy!” (translation – “Thank you, Mommy!”). He just started saying this out of the blue a few days ago whenever I give him something and it makes my heart smile.

10. I am thankful for my favorite verse, Psalm 46: 10, which I will now be able to hang on my wall, thanks to my sweet husband’s thoughtful birthday gift –

To read more thankful thoughts, please click the button below, (then click “Main Page”) to find the list of Thankful Thursday participants this week.

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Happy Belated Birthday! My birthday was earlier this week and as always it passed with no special fanfare, which always leaves me grumpy and down. Thanks for reminding me what IS special about it! Have a blessed week ahead!

  2. Happy Birthday sweetie, may God bless you with many more birthdays.

  3. Happy birthday to you! I remember when my girls said “tank you.” Precious memories. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

