Crockpot Tortellini Soup

I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit with my family, including the children! I found the recipe here when I googled “zucchini recipes” recently, in an attempt to find some tasty ways to use my bountiful zucchini harvest from my garden. I found many lovely recipes to suit my tastes, printed a few off, and am attempting to try them bit by bit. This was my first recipe to try and also my first ever homemade soup to make(!!) – adding a new page to my Scratch notebook, where I am compiling recipes along my journey to learn to cook more and more from “scratch”.

I had boiled some chickens on Monday and saved the broth to use for this soup – just refrigerated it overnight before pouring it in Tuesday morning.

So, without further ado, here we go –

Crockpot Tortellini Soup

Ingredients:
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 medium zucchini, in 1-inch cubes, about 1 cup
3 1/2 cups chicken broth or vegetable broth
1 large can (28 ounces) crushed tomatoes
1 can (15 1/2 ounces) canned great northern beans, drained and rinsed
1 to 2 tablespoons dried leaf basil
1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
1/4 teaspoon pepper
8 ounces fresh or dry cheese-filled tortellini, cooked

Preparation:
Combine all ingredients except tortellini in Crock Pot. Mix well. Cover and cook on Low setting for at least 6 hours. When ready to serve, increase heat to High setting. Add cooked tortellini. Cook 10 minutes longer, until heated through.

I doubled this recipe for my family and it completely filled my crockpot. When we were ready to eat, I added some garlic salt to taste and sprinkled Mozzerella cheese on each bowl of soup before serving. (I used shredded Parmesan on mine, and it was yummy, too!)

I served Cheesy Garlic Biscuits, a long-time family favorite, alongside the soup and got rave reviews.
I will definitely be cooking this one again.

Enjoy!

Blessing,
Nancy

10 Responses

  1. That looks yummy! Thanks for suggesting splitcoaststampers.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and entering my giveaway.

  2. You’re so welcome!

    Splitcoaststampers is really good for ideas – especially if you have Stampin’ Up stamp sets – you can search for card ideas by entering the name of the stamp set, and view so many cards that people have uploaded.

  3. I am always looking for new and EASY recipes to try out. This one sounds divine!!! Thanks!

  4. Looks wonderful!!

    Will definitely be trying this one…thanks, Nancy! πŸ˜‰

  5. This looks delicious! Can’t wait to try it. πŸ™‚

  6. What a great idea for zucchini! I’m the only one in the family who will eat it undisguised, and this is a way to get more veggies in my picky eaters. Check my blog again in a few days…I will update after my final exam on Monday (yuck!)
    FFL
    Kathy

  7. So glad this came up in a search for a tortellini soup recipe. Made it today and it was a home run! Thanks for sharing

  8. […] dinner came from a recipe from another blogger on a random search for a tortellini soup recipe. I don’t honestly even know if she’s still blogging but the recipe was available and […]

  9. YUM YUM YUM!!!

    We need to have that soon!

  10. I just put some in the crockpot. My daughter has a performance tonight and I need something quick we can eat afterward. This seems to fit the bill. I added some mushrooms and spinach in mine since I had them around and I am always looking to get in extra veggies wherever possible. Looks super yummy. I’m ready for dinner now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

