The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ August 11

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .cloudy skies with a bit of a breeze – a good chance of rain today – hope it doesn’t miss us! The Rose of Sharon bush outside my window is still going strong with it’s lovely bright pink flowers.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about baking my own bread rather than buying it from the store – I’ve been doing this from necessity the past few days, and everyone loves it so much, I may decide to just keep it up – wondering how the cost will compare – I’m sure it is much better for us nutritionally, and nothing beats the smell of warm bread baking in the kitchen!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .my home and family, having Jeff’s car back – repaired and workable, a quiet week to stay home and work on my school planning, the cooler weather this week, with several chances for rain.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .I’ll be baking banana nut bread today, as well as fresh bread for sandwiches. Dinner will be Chicken Stuffing Casserole, orange jello, and a tossed salad.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .blue pj’s – no shower yet – I’m starting slow this Monday morning (most Monday mornings!)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .a nice area in my bedroom for planning school and family activities – bookshelves with all of my idea books and resources and a desk with my file crate and supplies all within arms reach.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to take Tommy for his final dental visit today – a few more fillings and two more baby teeth pulled – my poor baby! Please keep him in your prayers.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“When People are Big and God is Small” by Edward T. Welch, various homeschooling and organizing e-books by Cindy Rushton, and Romans 10.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that Tommy’s teeth come out easier today than the last visit, so he won’t have such a hard time again.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .David asking to watch his Teletubbies tape (again), Anna telling him that he “always” watches it, birdsong outside.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .Piles of clean laundry to put away, more dirty laundry to be washed, stacks of books waiting to be organized on their proper bookshelves, a clean kitchen waiting for me to start baking today.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .baskets. . .I love country baskets.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .Mostly staying home working on projects – bookshelves, and school planning,with a visit to the quilt store next weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Bounty from my garden – loads of zucchini and our first harvested pie pumpkin.

~~~~~~~~~~

To find more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants this week in The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. Fresh baked bread!!! YUM!

  2. I want some bread, I just cannot make good bread. Love your blog. Praying for your son.

  3. I love homemade bread, definitely better than store-bought. 🙂
    Will pray for your son.

  4. Oh Nancy,
    what a neat daybook entry. I will pray you get all your plans done this week. The homemade bread sounds wonderful. You inspire I should do the same. Haven’t made any in years!
    The produce looks so wonderful. I cannot wait till next spring I hope to have a garden.
    I enjoyed your daybook. Come by and visit me. Tomorrow I am tackling Tues. with 5 minutes for mom. My project is making over my blog.
    Have a great Tuesday.
    Blessings,
    Sherry

  5. I made two loves of banana nut bread today! 🙂 I enjoyed reading your Daybook; hope you have a lovely week!
    Blessings,
    Mrs. C

  6. Mm.. your garden has blessed you! The pie pumpkin looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

