The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ August 18

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .rain is falling, providing moisture for all of the sun-parched plants. It is a lovely, cloudy, rainy day which feels like Fall has arrived (though I know better) – a great day to stay inside and bake.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .thinking. . . thinking about my school plans for the new year – trying to plan with a balance between bookwork and relaxed learning, with lots of fun reading, crafting and celebrating throughout the year.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the wonderful privilege of teaching my children as they are gathered around me all day long – learning so much from life and books and growing in our relationships with one another and with the Lord.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .fresh bread to make and 6 pints of blueberries to be used or frozen this week. Dinner tonight will be Barbecued Chicken, Rice, Tossed Salad and Apple Cobbler with Vanilla Ice Cream for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .green t-shirt and navy capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .new schedules and plans for our school year – very exciting!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to stay home and enjoy this Fall-ish day today.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .all of my homeschool curriculum as I plan our new year and Romans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that I don’t overload our school schedule, but that the Lord shows me how to do what He would have us do in the simplest and most relaxed way possible.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Anna turning the pages of the American Girl catalog next to me and humming quietly, Barney the dinosaur singing on the television, Tommy, Sarah and Michael talking in the kitchen, and the rain gently falling outside.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .many dishes calling me from the kitchen, laundry, lots of shoes laying around, a container of video tapes dumped out on the living room floor, a wonderful cozy feeling in the house today with the rain outside and all of us tucked inside.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .cozy scented candles burning on a day like today.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .Jeff’s father is in town this week for a visit, making dinner for a friend from church, homeschool bookfair next weekend, dinner at “the bank” , dinner out with the family to Chick-Fil-A, Ladies Bible Study, possibly a used curriculum sale and planning, planning and more planning.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


A few goodies from my garden harvested last week.
~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of Daybook participants this week. Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Chick-fil-a!!!! Yummy. Enjoy the moment, seeing Jeff’s dad and thanks just by saying that one resturant name…you’ve opened a lot of good memories in my head. Thank you.

  2. Your pumpkins are making me crave fall!

Leave a Reply

