Apple Crisp

Dessert last night was this yummy Apple Crisp, just perfect for the rainy, Fall-like day that we had. I had planned to make this last week, as it was National Apple Week, but never had the chance, so last night it was. This recipe is adapted from a recipe in one of my favorite cookbooks – “The Fannie Farmer Junior Cookbook” – yes, I said Junior – but I like it because it is full of basic scratch recipes – remember I’m still learning how to scratch cook, so this works for me. (I also really like the illustrations in this book, and you know how I am about graphics.)

One note before I give you the recipe. I doubled this recipe and used a 9 x 13 pan, so the pictures you will see show the doubled version, while the recipe I’m giving is for a single recipe.

I started with a nice brimming bowl of Granny Smith apples –

Funny thing was that I was only able to use about half of these, as I discovered upon cutting them open that half of them were starting to go bad! I was able to salvage enough to make the crisp, though. Here is the recipe –

Apple Crisp

1 1/2 pounds of tart, firm apples, such as Granny Smiths
1/4 cup water
3/4 cup flour
1 cup light brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 stick butter

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray 1 1/2 qt. casserole with cooking spray.

2. Quarter, peel, and core the apples, then slice them about 1/2 inch thick.

Scatter them in the bottom of the prepared casserole . Unless the apples are very juicy, pour the water over them.

Did you notice in the pictures that I forgot something? Maybe to peel the apples before I cut them? Oops! The next 15 minutes were spent carefully peeling each little slice – how fun! – I don’t recommend that you do it this way. Anyway, here is how they looked when I finished my little extra chore –

In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, and cinnamon.

Cut the butter into 8 pieces and blend it into the mixture with a pastry blender until it looks like oatmeal.

Spread it evenly over the apples.

Bake about 30 minutes or until the crust is brown and the apples are tender.

Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

Tommy loved this Apple Crisp so much that he said he would be wanting it for his birthday dessert next spring. We all loved it and finished off the entire pan. Enjoy this on your next Fall-ish evening with your family!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Yum! Looks good, I think I’m going to try this.

  2. *drools* Omg you need to make this again! x.x
    I’m serious, my stomach growled when I saw the picture!

Leave a Reply

