The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ August 25

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .a hummingbird is feeding from tiny red flowers on a bush, my feeders have been neglected way too long and need to be filled, the sun is playing hide and seek with the clouds.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about the Back-To-School Giveaway I will be announcing later this week – please check back to enter!
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .(this is a delightful new entry that Peggy has added starting today where we can share what we’re learning in our homeschools) still planning going on here – we won’t officially start school until after Labor Day, but every day brings something new to learn, whether we’re schooling or not. The planning is going well and I am getting so excited about the fun year that we are going to have.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .Mondays after the busy weekend to stay home and do laundry, cook and relax with my children.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .today I will be baking bread and cooking chicken legs in the crockpot to use later in the week. Dinner tonight will be Pork Chops on Orange Rice, Applesauce, Green Beans and Banana Splits for dessert (did you know that today is National Banana Split Day?!)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white shirt with sparkles and denim shorts.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .homemade birthday cards for two special people this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to enjoy being at home this week after last week’s busyness out of the house – much to do on the homefront, but nice to be here to do it.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .several books that I got at the homeschool bookfair this past weekend – “Too Much Stuff” by Kathryn Porter, “Whole Foods For The Whole Family” Cookbook, and several books by In The Hands Of A Child on lapbooking that I was delighted to come upon at the conference.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to remember this verse this week as I go about my days ~ “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” – Ephesians 4: 29
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .children chattering, David’s toy car clicking along the floor, “Andy Griffith” DVD playing on the television, Macey (kitty) giving herself a bath before curling up to sleep at the end of the bed.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .the laundry has been started, the kitchen is calling me to start baking, a new dog kennel/run is in the yard ready to be assembled for Jack, and I am getting excited to think that next week is September and it will be time for Fall decorating!
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .pretty tote bags – I have so many around my bedroom filled with books to take with me when I go out or to carry to the front porch for planning while the children are playing outside – I just love pretty tote bags!
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .finishing a few projects around the house that have been on hold for too long, baking, card-making, Keepers Club, a baby shower later in the week for the girls and I to attend, a family get-together to celebrate my Mom’s birthday, and wrapping up my school planning.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Blueberries ready for the freezer – after they are frozen I will put them in freezer bags to pull out whenever I need them.
~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants in The Simple Woman’s Daybook this week. Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. My mom does her berries the same way. It makes it easier to store them loose in a ziploc bag. LOVE fresh blueberries!

  2. Ooohhh! You peaked my interest with your “what’s in the Kitchen” ~ had to google Orange Rice. I’ve porkchops out for dinner too and orange rice sounds good!

    What blueberries didn’t get made into jam I ate…no blueberries left. 😦

  3. The orange rice is actually part of the pork chop recipe – it’s very simple –
    a recipe that I’ve used for years from my old Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook (1976). Here’s the recipe –

    In skillet, brown 6 pork chops on both sides; season with salt and pepper.

    Place 1 1/3 cups of Minute Rice in baking dish; pour 1 cup of orange juice over rice.

    Arrange pork chops on rice. Pour 1 can (10 1/2 oz.) chicken with rice soup over all.

    Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

    Uncover; bake 10 minutes more. Delicious!

    I double this recipe for my family.

    I don’t know if this is in time for your dinner tonight, but maybe you can try it some other time! Thanks so much for visiting!

  4. Ohhh…that sounds good too! I tried a recipe that had celery, onions, thyme, orange juice, orange zest and rice…I browned the porkchops and added them into the rice mixture. Pretty dang good.

    I make a recipe sorta like yours (minus the oj)…brown rice with beef consommé and cream of mushroom then add the browned porkchops on top and bake. My Great Aunt Hazel used to make it when my sister and I visited her once a month.

  5. […] 2008 I was looking at some of the the Simple Woman Day Journals yesterday when I saw Nancy at Home Made Blessings mention porkchops with orange rice for dinner. I’ve never heard of orange rice before and I […]

  6. Both of those recipes sound delicious!

    For all of you who would like to try her orange rice, she has posted it on her blog at http://www.sleepycathollow.com Yummy!

    Thanks for sharing and for the link love!

    Blessings,
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

