The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ September 8

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .the patio is nice and swept clean, the result of Jack finally being confined in his kennel, and his reign of destruction finally over.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .not thinking much – I’ve thought so much about school for the last few weeks, that my brain is worn out! Now it’s time to put all that thinking into action.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .first day of formal lessons today! Some of the lessons in store for the week include trying to remember our math lessons from last year – so that we can move forward from there, the always present Copywork and Spelling lists, some lessons on kangaroos, habitats and kindness, Bible study, Civics, the Human Body (skin), Spanish and Italian languages, an independent unit study on Italy for Laura, and lots of good reading. I will post more in the next few days about my overall plans for the year.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .another wonderful year that I can homeschool my children. All of your sweet comments last week on my giveaway post – I am rereading them and enjoying all of the lovely Autumn descriptions anew.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .dinner tonight will be Spaghetti with a Caesar Salad and fresh bread. There may be a special dessert, too, if I have time to make one.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white embroidered tee and navy shorts.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .special memories for my children as we share our days together.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to try to relax and just enjoy being with my children this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .mostly just school books this week. I will be starting to read aloud “Little House in the Big Woods” to the children.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that our first week of school is fun and productive.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Anna playing softly on the piano, dishes clanking in the kitchen, Sarah talking to herself as she does her hair.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .children scattered off into the house after a morning of schooling, laundry (do I even need to mention that one?), the girls’ room is beautifully clean after Sarah worked on it for three days and Laura rearranged the furniture, the Fall boxes are out in the living room, almost emptied of their treasures, which are being placed around and about the house.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .old Dick and Jane readers from the 1960’s – I have a collection of them, and my beginning readers use them just like I did when I was their age. The books even still smell like they did all those years ago! – another thing I love.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .mostly staying home, getting our school year off to a good start – tweaking things here and there, once I see how things are going to work out, trying to catch up on writing some posts that have been waiting for me to find the time.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


The beauty and blessing of books and someone to share them with!
~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants this week in The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Isn’t it weird how books can retain their smell like that? I’ve found that with a couple of my older books.

Leave a Reply

