The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ September 22

Happy First Day of Fall, everyone!
Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .bright sunny skies, breezy and warm.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .of many areas in my life that I would like to simplify – possessions and expectations, to name a few.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .today we will be making Autumn Blessings – we will write different things that we are thankful for on Fall leaves (foam) and then post them around the dining room windows and walls. The rest of the week will find us starting our apple unit (Johnny Appleseed’s birthday is Friday).
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .Jeff fixing my overheating van all by himself, without having to take it to the mechanic. Also for the new printer that arrived yesterday ready to begin the work that I have for it to do.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Lea’s pumpkin bars for breakfast (find this simple and delicious recipe at Farmhouse Blessings). Dinner will be Barbecued Chicken Leg Quarters on the grill, Rice, Salad, and Harvest Pound Cake for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white t-shirt and navy shorts.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .lovely journal pages with cut-outs from a recent Country Sampler magazine.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to stay home most of the week and work on projects and enjoy the outdoors.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .many beautiful Fall picture books, especially “apple” stories in preparation for our apple unit study.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to spend many hours on my front porch this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .grumpy children arguing in the next room (*sigh*), Tommy playing with Speed Stacks, The Wiggles singing, and Sarah chatting with me.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a kitchen counter full of pumpkins waiting to be distributed around the house – inside and out, new fall berry garlands looking for their new home as well, lots of books pulled off the shelves onto the floor in several areas – the evidence of a two year old in the house, beds to be changed with fresh linens today.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .pumpkins by the picket fence gate.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .working on Keepers badges with the children, Keepers Club, sewing on Michael’s Christmas stocking, Autumn baking including a new recipe to try for Apple Tarts.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

~~~~~~~~~~

To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants this week in The Simple Woman’s Daybook. Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

