The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ September 29

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .sunshine and a nice fresh morning. The chickadees are enjoying the birdfeeders.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about the movie “Fireproof” that Jeff and I saw over the weekend – it is absolutely wonderful and a must-see.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .we are making lapbooks this week as we study “How To Make An Apple Pie And See The World” by Marjorie Priceman. We will take a journey around the world (without ever leaving home!), map out our journey, taste different types of apples, discuss modes of transportation, evaporate water, draw street scenes and do several apple crafts. Not to mention all of the apple dishes that will be coming out of the kitchen classroom!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the beautiful weather we’ve been having which allows us to spend so much time outside.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .there is much chicken to cook and freeze today. Dinner tonight will be Chicken Tetrazini, Salad, and Apple Dumplings for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white t-shirt and denim capris
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .our craft room which will be organized and easy to use for scrapbooking, stamping and sewing. (It’s been too much of a mess until now to find anything!)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to spend much time on the front porch again this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .my Bible, “Little House in the Big Woods” and lots of apple harvest books with the children.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that we have a fruitful and relaxed week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .the ceiling fan spinning, “Bob the Builder” DVD, three boys talking to each other – all of the girls are still asleep.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a big mess from a busy weekend, a craft-room that is almost completed and ready for use, and a discovery in the garden – there are seven watermelons growing out there, just when I thought everything had given up and died for the year, not to mention the pepper plants that have decided to perk back up in the patio garden – even the tomato plants are producing again and some okra plants have come up that never showed their faces in the spring!
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .watching the squirrels scurrying around getting ready for winter.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .cleaning, baking, Ladies Bible Study, Horseback for Laura, as well as an orientation for her new volunteer job at the animal shelter, finishing up the craft room organization.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Rustic Apple Tart – I hope to have this recipe up tomorrow!
~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants in this week’s The Simple Woman’s Daybook. Thanks for stopping by and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Looking forward to that recipe!!
    Blessings from Ohio, Kim Wolf<

  2. Oh my Gosh! That apple tart looks scrumptious!

    LOL! All I have left in my garden is peppers and pumpkins. Those peppers don’t know how to say “when”…they just keep on growing.

  3. You picture thought looks absoutely delicious!

    I am looking forward to the recipe!

    I enjoyed your blog.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Tina Kay 🙂

Leave a Reply

