Creamed Eggs

Several of you have commented about the Creamed Eggs in my Teenage Boys Appetite post, so I thought that I’d share the recipe with you. This is a dish that Jeff grew up eating, but I didn’t, so after we were married he told me how to make it – or kind of described it and I tried a few things and came up with this. It is basically just a white sauce with hard-boiled egg whites chopped up and added to it, and then crumbled up egg yolk sprinkled on top. All of this is served over toast.

You start by hard-boiling about 6-8 eggs. After removing them from their shells, slice them in half and remove the yolks into a separate bowl to be crumbled with a fork. Chop the whites into small pieces and set aside while you make the White Sauce.

White Sauce

8 Tablespoons butter (1 stick)
8 Tablespoons flour
1 Tablespoon salt
4 Cups Milk

Melt butter in saucepan over low heat. Blend in flour, salt and a dash of pepper. Add milk all at once. Cook quickly (high heat), stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and bubbles. Makes 4 Cups.

Once the sauce is thickened, stir in the chopped egg whites. Pour over 1-2 slices of toast on a plate (or – if you’re like Matthew – 5 slices on a platter!) and sprinkle crumbled egg yolks on top.

I double this recipe for our family. I actually started out making this before we had any children, and would make only about half the recipe. As our family grew, I kept increasing the amount of white sauce and eggs to the point where I now make 8 Cups of sauce with a dozen eggs. My recipe card records the history of Creamed Eggs in my family, which I love! –

It is tradition at our house to always make this after Easter, when we have about 100 hard-boiled eggs colorfully sitting in the refrigerator, and that is probably when I first made it for our family, but then we progressed to making it year round as a nice filling dinner. Hope you enjoy it!

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. Thanks Nancy! I still have to give the Pirates “the hairy eyeball” before they try new stuff that involves gravy, but I know they’ll enjoy it. Looks like a good Sunday evening meal to my eyes. My hubby said it looks great. He’s one of those irritating folks who can eat like a teenager and never gain weight. He wants to know if your son is a bean pole, like he was as a teen, or a big ol’ hoss, like most folks would be if they followed a big plate of toast and gravy and eggs with another whole meal of burritos. 😀

  2. Yummm…I think I know what I’m going to make for breakfast tomorrow morning!

  3. Mother Hen – He’s pretty thin, although I’m not sure he could eat like that every day and stay that way. He tends to eat mostly at the end of the day, and will only eat alot if it’s something he really likes – like Pizza – you should see what he can do with that!

  4. I made this up for Saturday’s breakfast…I added sliced tomatoes and turkey bacon. We had enough white sauce left over for Sunday ~ put it over the left over biscuits I made for dinner. Very good! Thanks!

  5. Hi Sleepycat!

    That sounds even better. When I think about it, there are probably lots of yummy add-ins that would work – maybe I’ll branch out and try one next time. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Glad you liked it!

  6. Hi again…I made a pot up last night and put the creamed eggs in individual containers. Brought mine with a slice of homemade bread and had for breakfast here at work.

    Thank you for this recipe! It IS very GOOD!

Leave a Reply

