The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ October 13

Good morning! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .overcast skies with chances of rain all week. Many of the trees are wearing half of their leaves in yellow, and there is already a layer of fallen leaves on the ground in the front.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .how nice it will be to get the house cleaned up today.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .I am pushing the Pumpkin unit off to next week. We didn’t get to most of the fun Harvest projects that I had planned for last week due to preparing for the garage sale, so we will extend the Harvest unit another week. We will explore the “Ox-Cart Man” by Donald Hall some more and do several art projects in addition to our basic subjects.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .my Dad, who celebrated his birthday on Friday. He is a godly man who has always loved and taken good care of his family. I am blessed to be his daughter and I love him very much and am very proud of him.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Chicken Stuffing Casserole, Salad, and Pumpkin Cobbler.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .a yellow t-shirt and denim capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .menus for the rest of the week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to visit my quilt store later this week to pick up my block-of-the-month kit for October.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .Romans, Devotional Bible, and Little House with the children.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .for a nice restful week with lots of time to work on home projects.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Children playing with the Blues Clues toy we picked up at a neighbor’s garage sale this weekend (we will all have our planets learned in no time at the rate they keep playing the “planet song”!), hammering coming from outside behind the creek as workmen continue building a home there, chattery little voices.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .A big mess – why does holding a garage sale always result in a disaster inside the house? Thankfully, the boxes of items that didn’t sell are outside waiting to be picked up by Goodwill or they would be cluttering up the house, too. One lovely item around the house is a dozen pink roses on the piano – a gift from Jeff – just because.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .getting pink roses – just because.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .getting the house back in order, grocery shopping, Bible Study, quilt shop, and resting a bit after our busy weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Mini pumpkins on my dining table
~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants in this week’s The Simple Woman’s Daybook. Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. I loved reading your blog, sounded so relaxing and fun. Loved the picture too.

  2. Very nice photo! I enjoyed your daybook. Happy birthday to your father. What a lovely gift of roses!

    ~Susan

  3. OH! What quilt are you making?!

  4. Hi Michelle!

    The Block-of-the-Month that I am doing is Be-Attitudes by Nancy Halvorsen. I have only completed one block, but am storing the remaining blocks as I pick them up for a time when I’ll have more time to work on them. It’s a beautiful quilt and I am dying to get more done on it – hopefully soon!

    Thanks for asking!

Leave a Reply

