The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ October 20

Good morning! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .bright, sunny skies with a bit of a breeze; squirrels busy at work all over the yard; leaves putting on their Autumn array.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .organizing thoughts. I have declared this to be “Put It Away Week” at our house.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .Basic studies this week – reading, writing, math. spelling and Bible with some fun Fall puzzle and coloring sheets thrown in – no major projects or crafts as we will be spending our time “putting things away”.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the blessings of home and family.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Meat Casserole, Corn, Green Beans, with Apple Dumplings for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .White t-shirt and navy capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .a peaceful home with “a place for everything and everything in it’s place” (at least most of the time).
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to have to run to the store again today – I just went last night, but there is always something that pops up when I return that I didn’t realize we needed!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“Little House in the Big Woods” and my devotional Bible.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that Season 2 of the “Andy Griffith” show arrives in the mailbox this week. We’ve about worn out Season 1 now.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Michael and David reading books, Anna counting her pennies, “I Love Lucy” dvd finishing up on the television, more hammering outside as a house is being built across the creek.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a few tiny watermelons we salvaged from the big garden sitting on the kitchen counter, a build-up of items that are waiting to be put away this week, all of the children’s books in the playroom are on the floor after David wiped them off the shelves again this morning.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .farm or country toile fabrics, especially when paired with gingham.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .“Put It Away Week”, getting into the attic to pull down the winter clothes and assess what will be needed to fill in the gaps, deep cleaning out of the upstairs hall and the boys’ room, Keepers Club meeting, October family birthday party, and planning my giveaway for next week’s Fall Bloggy Giveaway Carnival.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Apple Dumplings – one of my favorite apple dishes – on the menu for tonight . . . yummmm! (I’ll try to post the recipe this week.)
~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants in this week’s The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a wonderful day!

Blessings,
Nancy

5 Responses

  1. Boy, those apple dumplings sure sound good! I hope your Put Away Week is successful.

    Enjoyed reading your daybook.

  2. Hello! This was my first time on your blog. I enjoyed reading your daybook. My family and I love watching the Andy Griffith Show and I Love Lucy, too!!! We have all but 3 of the I Love Lucy seasons–and want to eventually get the Andy Griffith dvds. We do have some of them taped off of TV from years ago, but are starting to wear them out from watching them so much. We watch both shows over and over again. Love ’em!! They don’t make shows like that anymore. Blessings, Karen

  3. What a great plan for “Put it Away” week! I need to do that around here. I’ll check back for that apple dumpling recipe, they look terrific.

  4. Those apple dumplings look great!
    We love old tv shows, too. I’m longing for my own copy of the many Walton’s shows.

  5. Your apple dumpling recipe looks truly yummy. I have an apple dumpling recipe posted on my blog. Wonder how the two recipes compare?

Leave a Reply

