Help For Growing Families

hfgf-banner1

Mother Hen from Ship Full O’ Pirates has started a great new meme over at her site. I’ll let her tell you in her own words her thoughts for this meme –

A place for more experienced moms of several children to share practical advice and helpful hints with new moms just starting out and with each other.

Almost all young (ok, all of us) moms are looking for helpful ideas to make their jobs a little easier or possible. When God sends us many gifts it can be lonely territory. And it can feel like you’re sailing in uncharted seas.

God has a plan for us though. He tells us in Titus chapter 2:3-5,

3 The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things;

4 That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children,

5 To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

What a wonderful idea for a meme. Mother Hen asked me to join in the fun, so I am jumping on this bandwagon – with a little fear and trepidation, because I so much feel like I’m still learning myself! But, there may be a few tidbits that I have picked up over the years that might be helpful, and I’m hoping to learn some new ideas from everyone else.

This week I’d like to share with you something I read years ago (I don’t even know where) that I have always remembered. The story involved two friends meeting at the park with their small children to play. One of them was usually quite stressed, visibly so, with the daily life of mothering. After awhile, her friend noticed that she was much more relaxed, content and happy when they met at the park. When asked about the change, she replied, “I simply lowered my expectations of what I could do each day!” So, rather than always living stressed-out because she wasn’t getting everything on her list done, she shortened the list, and lived in the reality of what she could do, not the ideal of what she’d like to do. (Okay, I’m preaching to myself here, too!)

Of course, shortening the list is not always an easy task. But I think, if we’re realistic, there are some things in the day that we might realize are just adding more stress than they are worth. The key is to pray and ask the Lord to help us plan our days – to know what His will is for that day. I think it’s also important to realize that we don’t have to do it all at every stage of life. When we have small children, there is so much time spent just in caring for them, training them and loving them that is so much more important than most other things. I know that I tend to not list these things on my To Do list and so I don’t feel that I am accomplishing much in a day, when really I am accomplishing the most important thing! (Maybe it would help if I did put it on my list!)

So, my word of advice is – if you are going through a stressful time, see what you can scale back on – expect less from each day and you’ll be able to more calmly handle the things that the Lord has for you to do.

“And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:8

To read more helpful ideas for growing families, please visit Mother Hen at Ship Full O’ Pirates to find the list of helpful participants this week!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Hi Nancy, thanks for participating this week (and every week, right?). I agree with that mom in your story. Actually, I think that story is about me. LOL! Expectations can be a real pain.

  2. Oh, amen. Great words of advice Nancy. I strongly agree with every word written here and can totally relate with 12 kiddos of my own. Be Blessed.

    Tricia

Leave a Reply

