The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ November 10

Good Morning! Welcome to a new week and a new Daybook entry for this day ~ November 10 ~

Outside my window. . .a wet and drizzly day outside today. Many of the colorful leaves have fallen to the ground and the trees are starting to look a bit bare. The Crepe Myrtle trees are the exception – showing beautiful color now. Squirrels are still busy between rain showers gathering and gathering.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .what a nice day it will be to stay inside and cook and bake today.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .Pilgrims and the Mayflower – reading various books and discussing them, as well as a a few crafts along the way.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .my husband, who will be celebrating his birthday this week – for his love and care for us.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .I will be boiling chickens today and tearing them up to freeze. I will then use the broth and some of the chicken to make a nice big pot of Chicken Spaghetti, with raw vegies on the side. Dessert? I haven’t been inspired yet. . .hmm. . .maybe a nice Autumn pumpkin pie or bread pudding.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .White t-shirt, blue jeans and socks – it’s chilly this morning!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .Michael’s Christmas stocking.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to stay home most of the week until next weekend when there will be many errands to run.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .my Bible, Charles Spurgeon’s “Morning & Evening” (pulled it back out and dusted it off – my absolutely favorite devotional book that I had let slip my memory), “Passionate Housewives Desperate for God” by Jennie Chancey and Stacy McDonald.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .my parents are having a wonderful trip this week to North Carolina and are safe and well.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .many children talking in this room (making it somewhat hard to write), Tommy coughing in the living room (there is a cough going around the house – several of us are finally over it, but there are a few still in the throes), the rain falling and the wind blowing outside the window.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .piles of clean laundry on the dining table needing to be put away, some dusting to be done, I keep checking all of the little pumpkins sitting around the house – they are starting to get old and I’ve found a few rotten ones – soon it will be time to replace all of the Fall decorations with Christmas finery!
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .roasting pumpkin seeds after the children have harvested them all from the pumpkins for a special treat, and then roasting the pumpkins themselves to save for baking – the house smells so lovely while they’re in the oven.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .baking, schoolwork, a special snack night on Thursday with roasted pumpkin seeds and Autumn sugar cookies, celebrating Jeff’s birthday this weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_4059
Sweet bell peppers in red, orange and yellow – the colors of Autumn – delicious!
~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for sharing this day with me! To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to find the list of participants in this week’s The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. I enjoyed your daybook. Passionate Housewives Desperate for God is a book on my “I want” list to read. How do you like it? Have a great week.

  2. I love the colors of the veggies. I want to come sit in your learning room– mayflower, pilgrims, crafts– sounds good! 🙂

  3. Hi Jen!

    I am only on chapter 2 of the book, but it is great so far – I am really looking forward to the chapter on perfectionism. I heard Stacy McDonald speak at a convention last year and most of what she spoke on was from the book – it was a wonderful session, so I’m sure the book will measure up!

    Thanks for asking! I hope you will be able to read it soon, too!

Leave a Reply

