The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ December 1

Good Morning! Welcome to a new day and a new month! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .the sun is shining brightly, the trees are almost completely bare, and there are Christmas decorations set up around the yard – after a weekend of fun and effort by Jeff and the children!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about gift-giving ideas for our Christmas list.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .just our basic subjects for the next two weeks – incorporating Christmas literature and poetry and a daily Christmas devotional.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the wonderful Thanksgiving that we spent with family.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .I’m not sure yet. I may not make it to the grocery store until tomorrow, so it may be eggs and toast tonight, since I have that on hand. I would like to start a little bit of Christmas baking this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .my pj’s – haven’t hit the shower yet.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .Christmas cards and more Christmas cards!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to take Matthew to the Orthodontist today – something broke on his braces and needs repairing.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens. I love this story, but have never actually read the book until now. It’s fun to see which movies have adhered closely to the original and which have ventured off on their own!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .the bank account holds out until payday!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .a few children waking up slowly, David picking out his clothes for the day (or maybe the hour – that’s a post in itself!), the heater running.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .the Christmas decorations are almost all completely out now (I’ll be sending the tubs back into the attic in the next day or so!), much laundry to be done, a spot for the Christmas tree has been cleared next to the piano and is awaiting the arrival of this year’s chosen tree on Friday.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .listening to Christmas music in the car while I drive and in the kitchen while I cook and bake.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .decorating, Christmas cards, Keeper’s Club Expo and end of year party, a mother/daughter Christmas tea at church for myself and the girls, and “Tree Day” – one of our family’s favorite days of the year – the day we go out and choose our Christmas tree for this year and spend the rest of the day and night decorating it – Robert and Ryan will be joining us for the fun!
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_5143
A portion of my quilting cabinet – filled with baskets, projects and colorful fat quarters.
~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for stopping by! To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook. Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Your quilting cabinet looks so organized! And inviting.

    I love Christmas music too! And eggs & toast πŸ™‚

  2. Ahhh…look at all the happy fat quarters! πŸ™‚

  3. I love the colors that your quilting cabinet shows. It’s really neat!

  4. I love your quilting cabinet!!! πŸ™‚
    ~Karen

Leave a Reply

