Country Sausage Breakfast Casserole

100_4925

I made this dish a few weeks back for dinner, but never got around to posting the recipe and pictures. It really fits better this month, though, because this is our traditional Christmas morning breakfast around here. I love it because I mix it up on Christmas Eve, let it set in the refrigerator overnight, and then just pop it in the oven on Christmas morning along with a couple of Sara Lee coffee cakes (a tradition from my childhood), and a nice hot filling breakfast is had by all without any time away from the fun!

This also makes a great potluck dish for brunches, showers, and ladies functions at church. As well, we eat it throughout the year for a delicious “breakfast dinner” – although I try not to overdo this, so that it will still be special for everyone on Christmas morning.

I think that I originally got this recipe from my Mom who got it from someone at church when I was in Jr. High School, but it is a common recipe that can be found in different variations all over.

Here is the recipe –

Country Sausage Breakfast Casserole

1 lb. breakfast sausage, cooked and drained
8 beaten eggs
6 slices cubed bread (crust too)
2 Cups shredded cheddar cheese
2 Cups milk
1 tsp. dry mustard
Pepper to taste

Mix bread cubes and cooked sausage and place in greased 9 x 13 casserole.
Mix remaining ingredients and pour over bread and sausage.
Cover and refrigerate overnight. (When I make this for dinner, I mix it up in the morning and refrigerate all day until dinnertime.)

Bake in 350 degree oven for 35-45 minutes.
Serves 8-10
May also be frozen before cooking, although I have not ever tried this.

Here are a few pictures I took the last time I made it –

100_4875
Cooking the sausage.

100_4876
Sausage mixed with bread cubes.

100_4879
Eight eggs. . .

100_4880
. . .beaten.

100_4881
Add milk, mustard, and pepper. I was out of dry mustard, so I just omitted it – we couldn’t tell the difference.

100_4883
Add shredded cheese last.

100_4884
Mix it all together and . . .

100_4885
. . .pour it over the sausage and bread – then stir it around to moisten and mix up everything.

100_4886
Refrigerate overnight or all day if baking for dinner.

100_4926
I made pumpkin bread to go along with it the night we had it for dinner. Yummy!

Now I’ve made myself hungry writing all of this and looking at the pictures. I’d better go and fix some lunch!

Enjoy!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. I love making that casserole (or one pretty much like it).

  2. Hi Michelle!

    I was just over at your blog, enjoying your “99 List” – lots of fun! I copied it and will try to post it soon.

    Glad you are enjoying the creamed eggs, too!

Leave a Reply

