The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ December 8

Welcome! Here is my Daybook entry for today –

Outside my window. . .a grey, cloudy, wintry-looking day.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about Christmas lists for shopping, baking, and doing.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .one more week of basic studies (and Christmas puzzle sheets, too!) until we break for Christmas.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .God’s blessing and provision while we await payday and Jeff’s yearly bonus.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Chicken Stuffing Casserole and a Tossed Salad – a yummy dessert (which I haven’t decided on yet!)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .my pj’s and a sweater with my soft blue slipper socks.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .still working on the Christmas cards, but they are coming along nicely and should be ready to mail/deliver by the weekend – I will also be working on several birthday cards for family members this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to be home most of the week, finishing up cards and shopping lists in preparation for next week (after we get paid) when I will be out shopping most of the week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .still “A Christmas Carol”, plus lots of Christmas picture books with the children.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to bake some Snickerdoodles this week – I’ve always wanted to bake these and never have!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Tommy and Sarah working on Christmas scrambled word puzzle sheets together, Michael reading aloud, Anna reciting lines from “Arthur’s Perfect Christmas” (one of my favorites – I’ve been watching it everyday – so I guess it’s stuck in her head!).
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .our Christmas tree is up and decorated (and still standing), the house feels much more spacious since the storage tubs are back in the attic (“ahhhh”. . . this does wonders for my daily sanity), there are several sniffly noses (just when I thought we were done), and as always, much laundry to be done.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .the smell of our fresh Christmas tree in the house and seeing it all lit up every evening as we go through the season.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .finishing making and writing the Christmas cards, lots of thinking…thinking…thinking about gift ideas for my shopping list for next week, baking some goodies in the kitchen, orthodonist visit, Jeff’s company Christmas dinner, the family December birthday party, looking at Christmas lights, and the beginning of my “12 Days ‘Til Christmas” series here on the blog (starts Saturday – I will be sharing each day what our family is doing as we count our way down to Christmas Day.).
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_5696
A batch of Christmas M & M cookies in the works.
~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook to find the list of participants in this week’s Daybook. Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Have a wonderful day! You won’t be sorry with the snickerdoodles. They are so yummy.

  2. Those cookies look good

  3. I’ve been making fudge and cookies up the wahhoo…but dang those M&M cookies look great!

    Snickerdoodles are AWESOME cookies! 🙂

  4. I love M&M cookies! We make them every Christmas…
    I enjoyed visiting your blog and reading your daybook. 🙂
    Karen

Leave a Reply

