On the 8th and 7th Days ’til Christmas . . .

42-19011896
Santa courtesy of Corbis

Sorry folks, I’ve been busy! I just haven’t had time to put down in writing just what we’ve been up to, so I’ll try to remember now the last couple of days together (no small feat).

The ice finally thawed around here as temperatures started to climb. A thick fog has hung over us for the last two days, but it hasn’t been cold (or frozen), so I’m not complaining. We were able to venture out again on Wednesday, so I spent the afternoon shopping at the toy store. This was a pleasant activity and I was happy to find everything I went in looking for.

I returned home just in time to head out again, this time with everyone in tow. We met Jeff at Wal-Mart to shop for our Santa’s Helpers gifts. Each of the children shopped for an item for a child their age, which didn’t take very long. Soon we were on our way to our next destination.

Laura’s birthday dinner from the day before had been postponed to this night, and she had chosen Chick-Fil-A, which also happened to be the drop-off spot for the Santa’s Helpers gifts. Ryan met us for dinner and we enjoyed chicken, good conversation, and the indoor playground for the kids. After dinner, Jeff took Laura to purchase her new I-Pod with her birthday money. I went on home with the rest of the crowd.
We spent the rest of the night watching “Holiday Inn” with Bing Crosby and Fred Astaire, while I finished writing and addressing the Christmas cards (which is why I didn’t get on here to write and tell you all about our day!).

42-19709581
photo courtesy of Corbis

Guess what I did the next day? Yep, back to shopping – you’d think I’d be done now! Actually I spent this day running several errands and only shopped a couple of stores, but one of them was very productive and crossed many items off of my list. Too bad I can’t share them with you, but little people often read what I write and I am a stickler for keeping Christmas presents a surprise – just ask them.

I was too tired this night to do much more than watch my daily “Arthur’s Christmas” and fall asleep in the chair.

I have been struck the last few days by the words of a lovely old Christmas carol – every time I hear them, I am moved and encouraged. I have bolded the part that keeps standing out to me –

“I heard the bells on Christmas Day,
Their old familiar carols play;
And wild and sweet the words repeat,
Of Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men.

I thought, as now this day had come,
The belfries of all Christendom
Had rung so long the unbroken song
Of Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men.

And in despair, I bowed my head,
“There is no peace on earth,” I said,
“For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men.”

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep,
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep.
The wrong shall fail, the right prevail,
with Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men.” “

-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

May we all rest in these truthful words now and in the days to come.

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

Leave a Reply

