The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ January 5

Good Morning! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .Freezing temperatures and drizzle has resulted in an icy landscape. I love to see the ice droplets on the bare limbs outside my window. Many squirrels and cardinals visited the feeders this morning, making me thankful (along with them) that I finally refilled the feeders last week!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that it is time to take down the Christmas decorations, although I will really miss all of the beautiful lights around the house each evening.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .one more week off, to get things back in order, so we’ll be ready to start in fresh next Monday.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the slower pace of January, with lots of warm, cozy, snuggly nights inside with my family.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Smothered Chicken in the crockpot (as soon as I get it in there), and a side vegetable yet to be decided. Apple Dumplings with vanilla ice cream for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .a white t-shirt and navy sweats.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .working on my Beatitudes quilt, almost finished with the February block.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .nowhere today! Iced in.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“Stepping Heavenward – One Woman’s Journey to Godliness” by Mrs. E. Prentiss.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .the kitties in the barn are staying warm.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .the movie “Kit Kittredge” (one of my favorites) playing in the living room, Jeff working on his computer, Michael piddling around in the bathroom – where he is hiding out from the American Girl movie.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a fading Christmas tree ready to come down with the rest of the decorations, still a bit of Christmas treats in the kitchen being slowly wittled away each day, a huge mountain of laundry needing attention, people staying inside where it’s warm.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .hot chocolate on a cold day or evening topped with whipped cream.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .putting away the decorations, our new Ladies’ study starting up at church, Basketball practices and games for three children, school planning, and celebrating Matthew’s 18th birthday this weekend!
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_6602
Nature’s beauty. . .

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a wonderful and warm day!

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

