The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ January 12

Welcome to a new week! Here is my Daybook for today ~ January 12

Outside my window. . .the sun is shining brightly and the skies are a beautiful blue. The birds are busy at the feeders. Our two barn cats are visiting at the back door hoping for a bit of cat food or hot dog for breakfast.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .how much I enjoy Mondays – when I can get the house back in order and start a new week fresh.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .we are starting our studies back up today. Along with our daily basics of Reading, Spelling, Math and Copywork, we will be be studying Deuteronomy 6:5 in Bible – “Love God with all your heart. Love Him with all your soul, Love Him with all your strength.” Our Five In A Row book this week is “Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel” by Virginia Lee Burton. We will be learning all about steam power, stewardship, elements of a story, personification, math application in construction, drawing trees, and problem solving. The high schoolers will continue their studies in Civics, Biology, Italian and Spanish. I need to start Laura on a new Science/History plan, and will look through my curriculum to find something that will work for her today.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .sunshine in my windows – it makes me work so much better!
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .I will be trying my hand at Chicken and Dumplings for dinner tonight – I’ve never made them, so it will be an experiment! I will be siding this with a raspberry pretzel salad and green beans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .a white polo shirt and blue jeans with my white Keds.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .just finished the February block in my Beatitudes quilt( see picture below), so I will be starting the March block soon this week, I hope.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to finish taking down the Christmas decorations this week – I’ve been so slow about doing it – the tree is gone, but I will try to finish up the rest.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .still reading “Stepping Heavenward” by Mrs. E. Prentiss, as well as “Overcoming Fear, Worry, and Anxiety” by Elyse Fitzpatrick.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .the sun keeps shining all week, so that I will get a lot done around here!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Anna singing, Michael playing Nintendo (he is done with school for the day), and myself telling David to stop jumping on the bed.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .Things are fairly under control – I dread bringing down the Christmas boxes, as I always have a hard time with the clutter while they are sitting around, but it will be so nice when it’s all back up and put away, balloons are laying around the living room – a remnant from Matthew’s birthday, my kitchen backsplash is half wallpapered in my favorite blue gingham paper – I hope to get it finished soon!
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .blue gingham wallpaper on my kitchen backsplash – I keep looking at it and saying “It just makes me happy to see it!”
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .schoolwork, eye dr. appointment for Matthew and Sarah, a meeting to sign and notarize our wills, a youth movie night at a friend’s house for Matthew and Laura, Basketball games, quilting, and Stamp Club next weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_6886

~~~~~~~~~~

To read more Daybooks, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Love love LOVE the colors of your quilt fabrics!

  2. Who is the maker of the fabric?

  3. Hi Michelle!

    The fabric is William’s Inn from Benartex. It is designed by Nancy Halvorsen, who also designed the quilt pattern.

Leave a Reply

