The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ January 26

Outside my window. . .cold, cold, cold!! . . . overcast and a bit drizzly. The temperatures will be dropping and we will be getting sleet and freezing rain over the next few days.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that I’m glad that I refilled the bird feeders yesterday, so the birds will be able to easily find food when the ice hits.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .We will be reading “Owl Moon” by Jane Yolen this week. Included in our studies will be – a study of owls, woodland habitats, the moon and it’s phases, metaphors and similes, hours of daylight and dark, as well as discussions on rules, maturity, self-control, bravery and realistic expectations. I am still working on an art idea – maybe something like owl faces made out of different seeds.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .a God who is bigger than my circumstances.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Chicken Tetrazini, Tossed Salad, and Garlic Bread, with something chocolatey for dessert – not sure yet what.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .a cream colored long-sleeved shirt with beaded trim, blue jeans and socks.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .a menu list for the next 3 weeks – until the next payday!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to be staying inside a lot this week. I don’t go out when there’s a hint of ice on the streets!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .I want to start a new read-aloud with the kids – something wintery and cozy – time to peruse the shelves.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .we will survive the next three days with Jack (the hyperactive Labrador) in the house.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .children talking in the living room, some type of construction machinery running south of our property, my nose sniffling (yes, I finally did catch the cold – but so far, it’s not too bad.)
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .much disarray, as I’m in the middle of cleaning out and reorganizing the playroom, which is requiring the moving around of toys, furniture and lots of books; some lovely new Longaberger baskets that have been arriving in the mail (recent Ebay purchases), and Jeff is working from home today! (and probably the next few days as well, once the streets ice over.)
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .a warm, cheesy casserole on a cold, winter’s evening.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .staying inside keeping warm, finishing the playroom project, playing lots of board games, drinking lots of hot chocolate, watching some movies, and working on my quilts.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_7125
A yummy birdseed treat for our feathered friends (post forthcoming!).

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Good luck being cooped up inside! 🙂 Give Jack lots of hugs. LOL! Keep warm, eat lots of cheese, and hope you don’t get too sick with your cold.

  2. Thank you, Michelle!

  3. Owl Moon is one of my favorite read alouds. Your unit plan sounds great!

    Stay warm!

    Blessings,
    Lisa

  4. Thanks Lisa!

Leave a Reply

