Snickerdoodles

100_7157

I finally did it! I finally baked a batch of Snickerdoodles. I have never made them before, and have been wanting to for a few months, and yesterday turned out to be the day.

They were so simple to make, and it was a fun family activity, as I had 5 children helping me roll and sugar them.

I know there are many Snickerdoodle recipes out there, but mine came from this cookbook –

100_7169

This particular recipe is credited in the cookbook to Michelle Goodard.

Here is the recipe –

Snickerdoodles

1 Cup shortening
1 1/2 Cups sugar
2 eggs
2 3/4 Cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Additional sugar and cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cream the shortening, sugar, and eggs until light and fluffy. Combine flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Add to creamed mixture. Stir in the vanilla extract. Shape into balls the size of walnuts. Roll each ball in cinnamon/sugar. Bake on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes, watch carefully so they don’t burn. Makes 5 dozen cookies.

Note: kids love them!

Quick, easy, and scrumptious!

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. I love Love LOVE Snickerdoodles!

  2. Ooooohhh…I spy two Longaberger baskets in the background! 🙂

  3. Okay so my kids saw this post and let me know how I am going to have to make up a few batches of these tasty looking morsels.

  4. Michelle – Yes, you are right about the baskets! Those two are some that my sister-in-law generously handed down to me. I use one to hold napkins and one for cd’s. Maybe I’ll do a post about the new ones that have joined the household!

  5. Hi Tricia!

    I’m so glad you came by to visit! Your kids will love helping you with these – and eating them up – ours were gone by this morning! (a few of us finished them off for breakfast!)

    I look forward to checking out your blog as well.

    Blessings,
    Nancy

  6. Nancy…I have hosted Longaberger basket partys just so I could get them 1/2 off and free! LOL! I’ve many of them throughout the house…3 of them I picked up at yard sales for $1-$5!

Leave a Reply

