Look Who’s Here!

100_7179

Can you tell who they are? Do you see that tell-tale red breast? Yes, they’re robins! I could hardly believe it when I looked out my kitchen window and saw them. And then I ran outside to take a picture to share with you.

100_7180

Now I know it is only January, but these guys (gals?) still put the thrill of Spring in my heart when I see them.

Maybe their arrival means that Spring will come early this year?

“A new note of joy from the orchard,
A glimpse of a vest reddish-brown
A little gray head cocked sideways –
Sir Robin has come back to town.

He seems to be glad that I notice,
As I watch for his lady’s down,
And call out to others in gladness,
‘Sir Robin has come back to town.’

Though Winter is ruddy and jolly,
Miss Spring is the maid of renown –
And our hearts sing a glad song of welcome
When the Robins have come back to town.”
– M. Lucille Ford

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. I’ve noticed more robins in my neck of the woods this winter too. Records from when I homeschooled my boys over a decade ago, show that they were only likely to be seen back then in the Spring. Not sure where you’re located (I’m in Nova Scotia on Canada’s East Coast) but we seem to be experiencing similar natural phenomena. Sometimes, it’s not that the robins come back early. They just never leave in the first place because they anticipate a mild winter ahead.

Leave a Reply

