The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ February 2

Hello! Welcome to a new day, a new week, and a new month! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .sunshine, blue skies and a cool breeze. The two barn cats have been to the door for breakfast and are now sunning themselves on the patio. The chickadees are pecking the last bit of seed off of the pinecones we hung a week ago.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about what to plant in the gardens this year.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .We will be reading “A New Coat for Anna” by Harriet Ziefert this week. This will lead to studies of post-war time conditions, the process and stages of making a garment starting with wool off the sheep, bartering, patience, pride in work well-done, weaving, making dye from berries, sheep, and staying well. Our Bible lesson is on the fruit of the Spirit: patience, to go along with our story. We will be making dye from berries, weaving placemats from construction paper and making cotton ball sheep.. We will end the week by playing “Made For Trade” – a game about bartering, and I may be adding a berry cobbler to our menu for the week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .indoor plumbing that works! Ours isn’t right now, but I’m thankful that Jeff is working on it as I write, so hopefully it will be soon.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .I made my first ever batch of Cream scones for breakfast with strawberry/blackberry preserves and home-whipped cream. (details to follow soon!) Dinner tonight will be Spaghetti, Caeser Salad, and Garlic Bread.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .a pink sweater and blue jeans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .a new gardening notebook for this year – it will include what I want to plant, diagrams of where they will be planted and what I need to buy. I am also including a divider for each crop, where I can keep notes and helpful information on how to grow each specifically.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to take two children to the eye doctor this week. . . finally . . . at least I think I am. We have had to cancel the past 3 weeks due to illness (the dr.’s), work schedule conflict, and icy roads. It looks like it might really happen this time – we’ll see.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .just my Bible. I haven’t looked for that read-aloud with the kids yet.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that the plumbing line is cleared soon – I’ve got dishes and laundry on hold until it does. (A mixed blessing!)
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .a dog collar jingling as Kiara (Laura’s Collie/Chow mix) makes her rounds, “Little House on the Prairie” DVD on the television, Anna singing.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a day that is quickly slipping by, a day’s schoolwork done (I have been writing this over the course of the day, fitting it in between cooking, schooling, “plumber’s” helpering, and mothering.), and children scattered off to various pursuits.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .the book “Pocketfull of Pinecones” by Karen Andreola – truly one of my favorite Homeschooling books ever.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .Keepers meeting rescheduled from last week, Ladies study, Basketball games, general cleaning and tidying.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_7200

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Hi Nancy!
    Can you recommend a good resource for a beginner gardener? We are going to make some raised beds in the backyard and grow some fruits and veggies this year, plus some flowers. I have just started making a list of what I plan to grow. Thanks!
    Kathy

  2. Hi Kathy!

    I still consider myself a beginner gardener – I sometimes get overwhelmed by what I don’t know, but am finding that each year I learn a little bit more. I consider it to be a lifetime learning process! 🙂 When I did my first garden I used the book “The Square Foot Gardener”, and still refer to it each year. I am going to be using the Internet this year to scope out articles on specific crops for my notebook. It seems that each item has it’s own list of what it needs and when it gets planted, so I’m going to research them individually. Hope that helps!

  3. Your scones make me hungry! Very nice daybook, I enjoyed reading it.

Leave a Reply

