Cream Scones

100_72001

As I mentioned in my Daybook yesterday, I tried my hand at making scones for breakfast. I had been eyeing a recipe that I printed out many years ago online and had filed in my scratch notebook ever since enjoying some delicious scones with cream at our Ladies Christmas Tea at church. I had whipping cream on hand, so that I could jump right in when I felt the call, but just hadn’t gotten around to it yet. I started to notice that they were getting close to expiration, so I knew I’d better get on with it. (I work best under pressure! 🙂 )

These turned out delicious, and I will definitely be making them again. I let them cook a bit too long and burned the bottoms of some of them, but I just scraped them off, and will watch them more closely next time. This was also my first attempt at making homemade whipped cream (I know, it’s pitiful!), and I was really pleased with the way it turned out.

This recipe was shared online by someone named Laine, but that’s all I know about the source. I believe I printed it out in 1999, per the date at the bottom of the page, but the address on the page doesn’t work anymore, so I can simply credit this to Laine (maybe you know who you are!)

Cream Scones

2 Cups flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 Cup sugar
1/3 Cup butter
1 Cup whipping cream

Combine first 4 ingredients well.
Cut in butter with a pastry blender.
Add whipping cream until moistened and knead lightly 5 times.
Flour and roll out into a circle about 1/2 inch thick.
Slice into triangles and place onto cookie sheet covered in parchment paper.
Brush a bit of cream on the tops and sprinkle with sugar, if desired.
Bake for 15-20 minutes at 375 degrees.

100_7195

I cut some of mine out into circles with a glass, so that’s why some of them are round.

To make the Whipped Cream – I simply poured the whipping cream (1/2 pint) into a bowl and whipped it with my mixer at medium speed until it was whipped to the consistency that I wanted –

100_7189

I then added about 1/4 cup of sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla (I didn’t really measure these, but I think this is about the amount I used), and continued mixing until they were blended. Don’t overmix or the cream will turn grainy (so I hear). I ended up with a delicious, sweet and smooth whipped cream -and so simple! Why did I take so long to try it?! –

100_7192

We ate our scones with blackberry and strawberry preserves and the cream on top –

100_7196

I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

