The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ February 16

Good Morning! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .cloudy skies with a cool breeze.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .of all of the housework I need to accomplish today.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .we’re taking a day off today from formal lessons. The rest of the week will be spent in finally (hopefully!) getting those projects done that we have been trying to do for two weeks, but somehow have managed to not be able to do.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .a lovely Valentine’s outing with Jeff on Saturday, complete with antique shopping in the old downtown and an Italian dinner at the Olive Garden.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Smothered Chicken in the Crockpot, Orange Jell-O and Caesar Salad.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .a new pink t-shirt and jeans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .just working slowly on my two quilts at the moment.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to run to the post office today and mail our belated Valentines to our son Robert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .the new spring Country Sampler and a Taste of Home casserole magazine that I picked up over the weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get the house ship-shape today.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .relative quiet now after a sibling storm a few minutes back (helped by the fact that one of the parties is now cooling off in their room), birdsong outside (a lovely sound), David chattering with Anna.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a wonderful new (but very old) barn red primitive hutch in the kitchen – a present from Jeff – already filling up with various of my primitive collections and inherited treasures. (I will do a post on it soon!), many Valentines scattered around after our evening exchanging them on Saturday, a few sniffly noses have started up over the weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .old Pioneer kitchen related collectibles.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .cleaning house, Ladies Bible Study, our final basketball games, schoolwork, cook and deliver a meal to a friend (I had my date wrong last week, and found out just in time that I was supposed to be this week!), and a family birthday party for Matthew (although his birthday was last month -it took us awhile to get a date that worked for everyone!). Oh, and a visit to the quilt store to pick up this month’s block of the month – always a refreshing experience.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_7452
An old strawberry picking basket from the antique store – I found the wooden strawberries in another store – they complement it perfectly!

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. And just where is that picture of the barn red hutch your dear husband bought you?! Tapping fingers on desk top!

  2. ps: Just LOVE the strawberry baskets…

  3. Coming up as soon as I can write about it and take pictures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

